1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some original DVD`s wont play on my PC

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by stevewalt, Nov 17, 2004.

  1. stevewalt

    stevewalt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Some DVD`s (mainly Columbia Pictures) will not even play on my PC so I am unable to copy or even view

    Anybody able to help me?

    PS I use Power DVD to view DVD`s
    Steve
     
  2. scf_au

    scf_au Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Can you please supply more information (e.g. which software you're using to play, view, or copy the DVDs)?
     
  3. stevewalt

    stevewalt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi
    I use Power DVD to view DVD`s
    I use Clone DVD2 to copy them. This works fine on most DVD`s and I have no problem copying.

    The problem arises when I put in certain DVD`s (mainly Columbia New Line Cinema) and this will not copy.
    I believe it will not copy because it will no even play on my PC and therefore has no chance of copying.
    Is it possible for some DVD`s not to play on a PC?
    Thanks for any help you can give
    Steve
     
  4. scf_au

    scf_au Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    O.K., basically, PowerDVD cannot play DVDs that have a different region code. So this may be the case if you can read some but not all DVDs. There are ways to bypass this problem. I use DVD43 + Patin-Couffin Layer to do it. Please refer to here:

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/126690

    DVD43+Patin-Couffin remove the region code and CSS protection from most DVDs. You can then safely view and copy them using any ordinary burning program such as Nero.

    Hoping this info. is useful.
     
  5. stevewalt

    stevewalt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks again for the reply
    Unforunately the region code is not the problem.
    The disc starts up plays the Columbia logo then simply stalls and goes into block mode. (By this I mean the screen is just full of blocks)
    It cannot be coincidence that all Columbia movies react in this way

    Still stuck????
     
  6. scf_au

    scf_au Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Not region code nor CSS problem, only happens with Columbia discs ....... This is interesting, never happened to me. Maybe I should shout help together with you. *_*
    Anyway, have you tried to play the discs with other media player program (e.g Nero)?
     

Share This Page