1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some XP questions(maybe many as i'm a noob pc user)

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by LUFFYPSP, Dec 26, 2007.

1. LUFFYPSP

LUFFYPSP Regular member

First thing is,i have Windows vista Ultimate and 1Gb Ram.i want to install xp on it.but i saw lots of version of xp available.so can someone list all the xp version and tell me what is the best xp at this moment.the only thing i know is it should be xp profesional.other than that no...(i saw there is gold edition,royal edition and many more) and they are downloadable.plus it says its a genune one,if you want the link tell me.

right now i have a copy of windows xp profesional SP3 with Vista Theme.i'm afraid its not genuine.how to know if the software is genuine??
    can i use microsoft office 07 and other latest apps that worked on my vista on xp??
    Thats all for now.i'll come back later with more questions.thanx for reading.

**the bold words is the one that i really need answers.

2. dizzyduck

dizzyduck Regular member

Stick with XP Pro or look for a copy of LastXp (XP Pro w/ tweaks)A few things before you start downgrading.

First, you will need to make sure you have all the XP drivers for your computer. As far as if your copy is genuine, it may not be and it may or may not pass the WGA, but that's something you won't know until you install it.

As far as the software goes, you should be able to use the software on XP also. Most Vista software is backwards compatible with XP. However, some XP programs are not Vista compatible.

3. LUFFYPSP

LUFFYPSP Regular member

-ok i got it.xp pro.just that,which one??which service pack??

-Whats WGA??

-do you use all the latest apps for your pc(i mean the one that compatible with vista because i heard the apps on vista cant support xp or something..)??

4. LUFFYPSP

LUFFYPSP Regular member