1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Something wrong with AMD 5600+

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by mikeh0303, Jul 25, 2007.

  1. mikeh0303

    mikeh0303 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I think there is something wrong with my AMD athlon x2 5600+

    look at this from cpu-z
    the speed is off by a gigahertz, and the other thing is that the CPU is idle at 50! the bios is set to auto detect, i would set it manually, but i dont know what the defaults for this cpu are

    Processors Information
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Processor 1 (ID = 0)
    Number of cores 2
    Number of threads 2 (max 2)
    Name AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600+
    Codename Windsor
    Specification AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5600+
    Package Socket AM2 (940)
    CPUID F.3.3
    Extended CPUID F.43
    Brand ID 4
    Core Stepping JH-F3
    Technology 90 nm
    Core Speed 1808.2 MHz (9.0 x 200.9 MHz)
    HT Link speed 1004.6 MHz
    Stock frequency 2800 MHz
    Instructions sets MMX (+), 3DNow! (+), SSE, SSE2, SSE3, x86-64
    L1 Data cache 2 x 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L1 Instruction cache 2 x 64 KBytes, 2-way set associative, 64-byte line size
    L2 cache 2 x 1024 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64-byte line size
     
  2. xXxBG

    xXxBG Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    their is nothing wrong, its because ur not doing anything, if u play a game or something that needs the speed it will go up.
     
  3. xXxBG

    xXxBG Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    their is nothing wrong, its because ur not doing anything, if u play a game or something that needs the speed it will go up.
     
  4. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    if you turn off all the power saving options it will run full speed all the time.
     
  5. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That's cool and quiet, CPU speed throttles down to save power when you're not doing much. 50 Celsius at idle sounds a bit hot, what cooler do you use?
     
  6. mikeh0303

    mikeh0303 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    this http://canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=013469&cid=FN.349

    the problem is that the fan blows air to the top of the case, not the back like it was ment to (i cant change this) also the bottom was loaded with preapplyed thermal paste, and I was to lazy to srap it off before i put it on.

    I got it down to 35 by taking the side pannel off (keep in mind i have 2 80mm back fans, a 120mm PSU fan (sucking air out) and one 80mm fan in the front pulling air in.

    my big problem is that the computer is in a metal case, then a wodden case, so there is very little cool air comming in.

    I plan on pulling the cpu cooler off and putting some artic silver 5 on it.
     
  7. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Wooden case????
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I think he means a wooden cabinet. You shouldn't even keep an office PC in one of those, let alone a high power CPU like a 5600+. it's testament to the power of the Freezer64 that it doesn't shut down in there.
     
  9. mikeh0303

    mikeh0303 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    before the hot weather I could use the stock cooler!
     
  10. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Do you get much hot weather in the Summer?
     
  11. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,708
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Thanks Sam, but it was a semi-rhetorical question, as is the one I just asked about getting hot in Summer.
     
  12. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Yes, but i have a shelf down in the corner of mydesk with one closed side and not much room at the back. I drop a good 7-8C in PC temps with it sitting on my desk in stead.
     

Share This Page