1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony 8gb memory stick pro duo

Discussion in 'Sony Handhelds' started by jerryc2, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. jerryc2

    jerryc2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Does anyone know if the Sony 8gb memory stick pro duo will work on a psp running 3.40oe custom firmware and is there a size limit on the memory sticks you can use? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. DTron

    DTron Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Um... I don't think there is a stick that big. Sorry.
     
  3. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    as long as you dont get a fake one,it should work fine..but otherwise they're like $170 or more...Amazon has them for closer to $300!!! You could get six 4 gig sticks for that...
     
  4. DTron

    DTron Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wow they do exist? Awesome.
     
  5. snypeshot

    snypeshot Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah i saw them @ future shop theyre like 200$ in toronto.. my friend got it and he said it didnt work because the highest card a PSP can read is a 4GB. the stupidest part is he thought upgarding to 3.50 will enable the memory card to work.. heh

    well from what ive seen it doesnt work but if you do get it to work let me know ;)
     
  6. MUNKYEARS

    MUNKYEARS Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeh they exist... but i heard taht some of the disk space doesnt work with a ta-86 mother board
     
  7. glenquag

    glenquag Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yeah there is... Look it up.
     
  8. MetalGeat

    MetalGeat Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    you should just get that double expand memory conveter thing and use two 4 gig stciks @ once.
     
  9. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    agreed-I have heard that there are compatability issues with the new 8GB sticks and PSP's-probably best to get the converter, and use two 4 gig's instead..but really how much stuff do you need on your PSP at one time? unless you compress the shit out of everything on there, you could get another game or two on the stick?
     
  10. DTron

    DTron Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh, that's what that converter thing does.... Hey, do you think you could stick a converter in a converter and get 3 slots?
     
  11. glenquag

    glenquag Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If you don't mind risking your life in a huge explosion, sure.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2007
  12. DTron

    DTron Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh... X_X ... Right... well, nevermind then. heheh... XD
     
  13. MetalGeat

    MetalGeat Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    or corrupting all the data on your psp.
     
  14. luch559

    luch559 Guest

  15. DTron

    DTron Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think they can only because it was release and therefore, tehy can sell it.

    I know there's one now. I see them everywhere. I'll stick with a 4GB one though.

    Do you think it's ok if I move games on and off the stick and just keep the game data on the stick... like...

    If oneday I just copied two games (Game A and B) on the stick and thenn another day I felt like playing games C and D so I took A and B off and put C and D on, do you think that would work? Or would that mess it up?

    Do I need to always have the games on there, or can I move games on and off of the stick and just keep the data from them there? Thanks.
     
  16. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    as long as you dont format your memory stick-you should be fine...
     

Share This Page