1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony DRU-500AX and dvd+r problems

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by jcb72, Mar 9, 2003.

  1. jcb72

    jcb72 Guest

    I am trying to burn my first dvd+r using my sony DRU-500AX and veritas record now dx and I am getting an error message telling me to try another disc. I have tried using both memorex and fuji dvd+r discs and I am getting the same error messages. Here are the advanced details.
    --------------------------------------------------
    Sony DVD RW DRU-500A (L:) ATAPI (2.0c)
    PX.DLL - 1.1.0.373
    PXMAS.DLL - 1.5.0.113
    PXWAVE.DLL - 1.2.0.88
    PXWMA.DLL - 1.0.0.2
    OLEAUT32.DLL - 2.40.4518.0
    MSVBVM60.DLL - 6.0.88.77
    MSCOMCTL.OCX - 6.0.88.62
    MSCOMCT2.OCX - 6.0.88.4
    PXHelp20.SYS - 2.2.44.0
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Ollie

    Ollie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Check your firmware. I have the Sony DRU500a and had the very same problems burning with Nero.
    Do you get an 'invalid media' error?

    I upgraded to 1.0f firmware and the 'invalid media' problems when burning the lead out went away.

    I have used both Intenso and Traxdata DVD+R media with no problems since the upgrade.
     
  3. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I also have a Sony DRU-500A with firmware 1.0f. I have had absolutely no problems or error messages with mine when using DVD+R. I have been using Imation discs exclusively. I must admit, though the only software I've used to date is DVDXCopy to back up the many rare and hard to find DVD's in my rather large collection (350+). It is my belief that the brand of disc that you use has a fair amount to do with the performance of your writer and/or software, as well as the latest firmware out. I personally use only Imation and Verbatim, although I would have no qualms about using Fuji. The only reason I've not used Fuji yet is that I always seem to find a better deal on the other two. Hope this helps and best of luck to you. I also use Nero, so when I eventually use it for DVD's I'll post if I run into problems.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2003
  4. Conrad

    Conrad Guest

    If you really have the DRU 500AX you do not have to upgrade the firmware. In fact there are no firmware updates for the 500AX. The firmware updates are for the DRU 500A only
     
  5. coolsammy

    coolsammy Guest

    I had similar error messages using my 500AX with RecordNow DX and turns out my ifo files were incorrect and RecordNow DX gives me an inaccurate error message saying try another disc. After ripping your files using DVD Decrypter you have to use ifoedit and create new ifo files, then use the 'get vts sectors' command before burning all the files in a VIDEO_TS folder. After I modified my ifo files properly RecordNow DX proceeded to burn my first DVD movie back-up. There was nothing wrong with my blank discs. Hope this helps.
    Sammy
     
  6. skizo

    skizo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just bought a Sony Dru 500AX. Using Nero and Sony DVD+RW, keep getting streaks on the graphic files, halting sound on the mp3 and some difficulties opening data files.

    I have 512 of ram and my cpu is an athlon 1.4 g.hertz.

    Can you advise me what to do?

    thanx
     
  7. stryfe01

    stryfe01 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    that's not true i bought my dru500ax few weeks ago and teh day i got it there was another firmware available it is at 2.0e i believe now. recording problems normally stem from 1) firmware, the recorder did'nt support your media when it was released with that firmware, 2) your media, your using cheap media to reduce costs, but mainly your affecting quality.

    there are other reasons, but those have been what i've seen. as soon as one is fixed then you usually dont have the same problem, if any after that. again i must reccomend FujiFilm DVD+R.
     
  8. T-bone

    T-bone Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I too had problems with a new DRU500AX, I had to update my Bus Mastering Drivers on the motherboard and then all worked fine, I was also able to update the firmware to 2.0e and now works great using Verbatim discs, using RecordNow and Easy Creator 6
    Hope this helps

    T-bone
     
  9. doc-b

    doc-b Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i am having a simular problem, i get the message invalid media using a memorex dvd-r.

    sony dru 500ax
    winxp
     
  10. stryfe01

    stryfe01 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    update your firmware is the most i can say...that usually fixes it. i have also heard bad things about memorex dvd-r with the dru500ax. well with any dvd burner for that matter. memorex +r work better.
     
  11. jcb72

    jcb72 Guest

    2.0f is out. I just upgraded ill let you guys now if it fixes my problem.
     

Share This Page