1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony DRU 710A

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by Libs, Mar 16, 2005.

  1. Libs

    Libs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My Sony DRU 710A is sending me off my head. It won't read or write CDs or DVDs. I have checked the cables, the drive is set as master.

    When I try to read a CD or DVD I get the message that this is not a valid Win-32 application. (That is a translation - my system is in German).

    When I tried to use DVD Decrypter I get:

    I/O error
    Device: [1:0:0] SONY DVD RW DRU-710A BY03 (D:) (ATA)

    ScsiStatus: 0x02
    Interpretation: Check Condition

    CDB: 25 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    Interpretation: Read Capacity

    Sense Area: 70 00 04 00 00 00 00 0A 00 00 00 00 08 03 00 00 00 00
    Interpretation: Logical Unit Communication CRC Error (ULTRA-DMA/32)

    If any of you could help me I would be eternally grateful. Sony has proved to be a load of rubbish as far as help is concerned. Apparently noone is responsible for anything at all!

    Thanks

    Libs
     
  2. jamacaboi

    jamacaboi Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Has it ever worked? If not then maybe its just defective and should be returned or exchanged for another. If not update firmware, there is a new one out since March 14. I installed the new firmware last night myself.

    Are you using good quality CD and DVD media?
     
  3. Libs

    Libs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for your quick reply. It did work once - for a very short period of time!

    I am using good quality media.

    I'll try the firmware - I did try before but it made no difference.

    Anyone got any other ideas?

     
  4. Verden

    Verden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i am having this same problem, anything i can do to fix it?
     
  5. Libs

    Libs Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Still got no idea, sorry. I tried mine out in another computer and it worked perfectly. As far as customer support is concerned Sony is absolutely hopeless. All I get is e-mails telling me that someone else in Sony can help me - which of course they can't! Never again!
     
  6. cruisin60

    cruisin60 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Have you checked your cables? They may have come loose while you were installing the new drive. Check all 3 connections, the one at the pc, the one at the slave and the one at the master. Also the DRU500 came with a cable, did you replace your originl with this one? Since it works in the other computer I have to assume the burner is ok and must be something in our system.
     
  7. alkohol

    alkohol Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Cruisin60 got a good point there.

    Make sure when you guys installed your burner, set it to Master and your other DVD/CD-ROM is on Slave. On the other hand, check the IDE ATA/ATAPI Controllers in the Advance Settings -- make sure Primary and Secondary IDE channel on both device 0 & 1 is on "DMA mode" and not PIO, Transfer Mode: DMA if available, Current Transfer Mode: Ultra DMA Mode 5. If you have PIO, then change it to DMA, click OK, Restart your computer. Perhaps, try uninstall or update the driver, and restart the computer again. Once restart, Windows should do it's job for the driver. My other suggestion is try to update it's firmware by going to Sony's website http://sony.storagesupport.com/ (for USA only) - you should have got the DRU-710A DVD/CD ReWritable Drive manual when you purchased the product inside it's box, and depending on where you're from, they have all the Sony global site to get there. Lastly, if it's defected or it's not doing it's job then simply return it and have Sony get a replacement for you.

    NOTE: before return the item, you must have proof of receipt and talk to someone at Sony, make sure you have them give you a confirmation of RMA #, so you can send it back for a replacement.
     

Share This Page