1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony PCV-RZ22G TV Tuner Card Info

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by vurbal, Jul 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vurbal

vurbal Administrator Staff Member

I recently had my PC taken out by lightning and in order to get me a replacement that had all the features I needed (specifically a DVD-R burner) the insurance company sent me a Sony PCV-RZ22G which also has a tv tuner card as it is supposed to be a general purpose A/V computer. I thought I would start using it to record TV shows but before I do I want to educate myself as much as possible (I teach computers and networking at a community college but am a complete newbie when it comes to tv/capture cards).

First off I figured I should figure out what card I have, which I thought should be as easy as looking in the Device Manager (WinXP) but I didn't find anything that looked like it referred to the tuner card. Next I tried Sony's website and didn't find anything better than generic marketing information. I also found a VAIO video capture/recording forum that had many users of this PC, but it is geared toward non-technical types and is pretty much just discussion of the recording software that Sony bundles with their machines.

Finally I decided to examine the card itself. As I expected it is a Sony card. From looking at the markings on the board I came to the conclusion that the model is ENX-15 (which didn't help me find any more information on the web). Other than that the only thing I can really say for sure is that it has a C-Cube ZiVA-3 MPEG-2 decoder chip, which apparently is mostly found in older standalone DVD players based on IDE drives.