1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sound to load after ripping to ac3/convert to MP3

Discussion in 'Audio' started by rrommel, Jan 26, 2004.

  1. rrommel

    rrommel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Probably a stupid question but:
    - I have a DVD with a live-concert on it
    - I ripped the sound to ac3
    - it sounds PERFECT with Nero 6
    - then I used SEVERAL AC3->MP3 converters (decoders?)
    but then the sound is terrible (over-gained, is
    that what you call it??)
    - so I probably need to 'normalize' it?
    Looking at the mp3 in 'peak-mode' using Nero, it looks like both the L and R-channel are too 'loud' (it's almost a thick spot, (almost) no peaks ...

    What I don't get is:
    - why does it sound perfect in AC3-format, and is it 'over-gained' after conversion. In other words:
    why can't a decoder just do the job???

    Thanks!
     
  2. tigre

    tigre Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'd use foobar2000 with AC3 input plugin from here: http://www.cqasys.com/projects/kode54/index.php
    Decode to .wav using discwriter + encode with lame or transcode to lame directly using lame output.

    The point about using foobar2000 is that it decodes to and works internally with floating point aritmethic, so clipping caused by too loud volume can't happen. Use its replaygain feature to adjust volume.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]AFTERDAWN FORUM RULES: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2004
  3. rrommel

    rrommel Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Tigre,

    I tried it (nice, easy program), and in doing so, I found that the AC3 ITSELF is too loud!! Using foo, I have to regain it by ~11dB to have a good sound.
    (Nero is doing this automatically, that's why I thought the AC3 was OK).

    So it seems that BOTH SmartRipper and DVD decrypter,
    demuxing the audio to an AC3-file, do something strange??

    Any clues on this???
     

Share This Page