1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

specs

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by kinza, Nov 6, 2004.

  1. kinza

    kinza Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I was just wondering how long it takes you guys to copy a dvd to your hardrive(with compression) and what your computer specs are.
     
  2. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Depends whether I'm doing a dvd5 or dvd9, settings I'm using, programs I'm using, and the media :)

    Can you be more specific on what your trying to compare?
     
  3. kinza

    kinza Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    when backing up only the movie and menus of a dvd9 to your harddrive with Nero Recode 2. I usually close out of all other programs running in the background.
     
  4. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Just using the normal settings in Recode, movie and menu only (no extras) ... I would say 25-30 to get it to my hard drive.

    I could test for you if you want :)
     
  5. weetings

    weetings Guest

    A newbie I am, and I was wondering just how long it should take to back up to the hard drive and then write to the burner? on my first try It said my compression was at 59%,..is that what it usually is, or does it go to 100%. Also, in writing to the hard drive and burner it took 3.5 hrs. and 4 hours respectively. is there any help that I may get? I have a I/O magic 16 x Dvd +- R 120 gig hard and 2.0 megs
     
  6. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    My test:

    Shrek 2 7.63GB
    AnyDVD & Recode 2
    Movie and menu only.
    Advanced analysis and High quality mode checked
    Start to finish to HD ... 50 min.

    @weetings,

    Burning at 4x is around 15-20 min.

    What is 2.0 megs?

    Check your IDE settings. Make sure DMA is enabled.
     
  7. kinza

    kinza Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thanks for the test
    I get about the same time and my specs aren't that good. Do you know why?
     
  8. dlc2000

    dlc2000 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    128 mbs of ram isnt really alot of memory and may be the reason why your performance isnt too good .
     
  9. weetings

    weetings Guest

    thanks forr the help , DMA was not enabled and I do think that I shall get more memory as per adding about 256. Thanks again
     
  10. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I would be surprised if you got the same time :)
     
  11. kinza

    kinza Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,045
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Be surprised.
     
  12. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yea ok ... w/ 128mb of ram
     

Share This Page