1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speeding up bit torret via opening ports

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by Torrano, Dec 12, 2004.

  1. Torrano

    Torrano Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all,

    Sorry if this has been posted to death but im kinda new to the whole opening ports thing.

    I've seen a lot of post about how to speed up BT by opening ports 6881-6689 or something, only one problem theres this mention of "routers"!!. For those of us who just use a modem a la me or anybody else in that case, it is possible to open ports or do i need to go out and buy a router to get higher download speeds.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2004
  2. L33

    L33 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Add the port you want to your firewall's exception list.
     
  3. Torrano

    Torrano Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What firewall i dont have any installed?
     
  4. teggy

    teggy Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well if you have windows XP SP2 there is a built in software firewall.
    I would reccomend having one!

    If you are windows 9x/me you could try Sygate Peronal Firewall (SPF). It is free and has very good monitering features.

    And the ports are 6881 - 6889 or 50505 - 50606, generally I haven't noticed a performance change with ports 6881 - 6889. I therefore used the default ports that are set in bittornado which are 50505 - 50606, There is a performance change, I have only noticed it in downloading vidoes or music not in anything else.

    You could however I'm sure, experiment, try opening a set of ports and setting your program to run from them ports. Also I suggest using bittornado.
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2004
  5. Torrano

    Torrano Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I dont have Windows XP SP2 installed, becuase it f***ed up my computer last time I downloaded it really messed up IE. Anyways what performance gains have u noticed using the default ports 50505 and 50506 cause mine were set on 6881-6889
     
  6. teggy

    teggy Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26


    Usually my bittorent would peak at 30 - 50kbps now with this program(bittornado) and on 50505-50606 ports I can get a steady 100+kbps and download a gig in just over 3hours.

    XPsp2, um do you get flash.ocx problems then IE error and it closes? I get them frequently.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2004
  7. Torrano

    Torrano Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Cheers I try setting the ports to 50505-50606, hopefully this should sort things out. As for SP2 everytime I tried to browse the web it kept saying URL not found on every web page
     
  8. teggy

    teggy Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That's not SP2, I had that problem. My ISP released a patch that needed to be installed b4 SP2. I uninstalled then installed the patch and installed SP2 again and it's fine.
     
  9. Torrano

    Torrano Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hmm I'm not so sure I've never heard of a patch to fix this from my ISP and once I installed SP2 I couldnt get the the damn thing off (asides from formatting), think we'll just leave it well alone. btw if reconfiguring BT works, youll be me best bud!
     

Share This Page