1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spiderman 3 Region 2 - will not copy

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by bruce32, Oct 19, 2007.

  1. bruce32

    bruce32 Guest

    Has anyone had any luck with copying this? When I place in PC it reads that "no disc is present". The original disc plays fine on TV. Any ideas??? Normally I would use DVDFab then Vob then Shrink but I cannot even do this as it comes up "no disc".
     
  2. movies27

    movies27 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The movie doesn't come out until tuesday..Region 1 disc...
     
  3. Mr_Pink

    Mr_Pink Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Next Tuesday, October 30.

    I don't know why people always post about movies that are not readily available yet. Yes, I understand the release date varies around the world but considering so many members here use region 1, asking how to get your region 2 disc to work (before the movie's release date, no less is an exercise in futility.
     
  4. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    i'm Region 2 but i haven't read anything untoward or tricky about this movie; it just sounds like a problem with the pc drive as opposed to the actual movie disc..
     
  5. bruce32

    bruce32 Guest

    TO MR PINK. I would suggest your reply to me is completely over the top! I have "dared" to make an error in requesting assistance with a region 2 issue when the region 1 version is not yet available(??!!). Well this is simply an oversight and to be honest, I cannot understand your clear irritation with my post. I would suggest you could simply have replied that you could not assist as the disc is not yet available or, better stil, have not replied at all in this case. Pardon me for making a mistake here!!
     
  6. bruce32

    bruce32 Guest

    TO CREAKY - thank you for your assist. It turns out was a fault on pc and is now fixed. thanks for an informed and helpful response.
     
  7. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No worries, glad to help, though i'll wager Mr_Pink's reply wasn't meant to come across as unhelpful, i personally didn't see anything amiss there. All's well in rips & burns :)
     
  8. Mr_Pink

    Mr_Pink Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Yeah, seriously!

    I'm probably more of a pacifist than anyone on these boards. Did you, Bruce, wake up on the wrong side of the bed or have an argument with the missus? But it doesn't even matter.

    Before this thread spirals out of control, I can almost guarantee there will be another thread started by next Sunday about all the copy protection that will accompany this sony movie. So even if you had a copy protection problem, which you didn't, its remedy will be listed there.
     
  9. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I noticed the DVD was released in the UK about a week ago. Not much stir on this one so far from there. Bruce32 mentioned he was only having a "fault on the PC". Fairly often Creaky has been telling me for some reason or other region 2 DVDs don't get the nasty copy protections seen in region 1. So, the protections may not be the same. We've seen that several times in the past. I don't have any insider buddies, so I'll have to wait for the scheduled release next week. I think I'll cry foul, 2 weeks between regional release dates seems too long. I hope it's just as easy to back up as region 2.
     
  10. Mr_Pink

    Mr_Pink Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    This week's Sony DVD, Hostel II (which seems like it's going to be garbage, BTW), doesn't have anything special. Maybe they're saving up all their copy protection for Spidey 3.
     
  11. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Shades of Carly Simon Batman... "Anticipation". LOL
     
  12. camyaj

    camyaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yiu can backup Spidey3 but only if you use a D/l disc shrink will only compress by 1.2.Even if you rip to hard drive first .Anyone else found this or a worka round
     
  13. Zev0

    Zev0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had no problem with movie only using AnyDVD and DVDShrink. Worked like a charm.
     
  14. camyaj

    camyaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    There is no problem If I use a D/l but the compression cannot be altered to get it in a sigle layer
     
  15. camyaj

    camyaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok found a workaround
     
  16. tucker001

    tucker001 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'd wait for the next anydvd update
     
  17. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Workaround? Normally if the deep analysis and AEC are used (Quality Settings), Shrink can handle high compression. Even with the biggest movies all I usually need to do is uncheck unused languages and subtitles. Only on a few rare occasions have I seen Shrink unable to compress enough and then a second pass usually worked. For the really high compression jobs I suggest RB for better video quality.
     
  18. camyaj

    camyaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry Pacman but dont see how any number of passes can make any difference when the Maximum compression shrink will allow is 1.2% resulting in minimum file size of 6G/bytes + and thats just the title.
     
  19. res2cue

    res2cue Guest

    yes it can. I did it, remove all the previews and you should be set, camya what are you talking about 1.2%? You can compress alot more than that with Shrink. Check your setting. Maybe learn some more about the program before you start questioning others.

    @tucker there is no need to wait for an update, this movie can be done with anydvd 6.1.7.0
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2007
  20. camyaj

    camyaj Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm quite familiar with shrink thank you and if the box says 98.8 that = 1.2compression ( compression being the difference not the figure that is shown) of course you know that and the slider is still at the extreme left the disc still shows as over 6G/byte. selecting custom ratio allows the slider to be moved from 98.8 extreme left to extreme right to 100% giving no compression even selecting reauthor and only the title makes little difference .I use anydvd by the way. You may well had no problem with this disc but others have
     

Share This Page