1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spiderman 3 wii problem

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by lestatkre, May 16, 2007.

  1. lestatkre

    lestatkre Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I received a Wii from my father with the wiikey. The problem is that when I put the game it automatically starts an update and I´m very poor and don´t have internet . The question is can I play this game without the update?
     
  2. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    What region is your Wii?

    What region is the game disc?
     
  3. ghostboy6

    ghostboy6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    nope theres no way. however did you try to let it update itself? after putting the dvd in and going to the disc channel it should do an update just make sure your game region and your wii region is the same first or you might get your wii bricked. :) (ntsc u = ntsc u game disc update) if your game is a PAL region and your wii is a NTSC U region then i suggest not updating it through the dvd cuz this way it would brick the wii.
     
  4. lestatkre

    lestatkre Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I know the game is USA NTSC but how can I know wha´t´s the region of my wii? It has the wiikey so it´s NTSC?
     
  5. Daimao

    Daimao Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    where do you live?

    usa/canada = ntsc(u)
    japan = ntsc(j)
    europe/australia = pal
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007
  6. lestatkre

    lestatkre Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Both the wii and the game are NTSC USA
     
  7. lestatkre

    lestatkre Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ghostboy : I take the spider3 game put on the wii, then I go to the disc channel then comes a message saying that the system will update.Than the update apparently starts but freeze on this screen.

    Note. I don´t have a net on Wii so can it update? Is there a way to play this NTSC game on my NTSC wii without doing this update?
     
  8. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @lestatkre

    I have read conflicting threads on this issue.

    I have read some that say as long as your Wii and game disc is the same region then you should be able to update without any problem.

    I also have heard that you need an Internet connection to do the update.

    But per your question if you can play the game without an update then the answer is no. You will need to do the update before playing the game.
     
  9. lestatkre

    lestatkre Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    So this means that if I don´t have an internet conection I can´t play wii games?
     
  10. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You should be able to play the game without and Internet connection.

    I have no idea what your problem is. Maybe your Wii is having a problem reading the media you have used for the backup.

    I have seen some update without an Internet connection but yet I have seen some have problems updating without the Internet as well.

    Do you have a rental place near you that rent Wii games? maybe call and ask if they have Spiderman 3 and rent it to see if you have better success with the original disc updating the system.

     
  11. lestatkre

    lestatkre Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'll give it a try! tnahks for all your help larrylje!
     
  12. Thinone

    Thinone Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the whole point of there being an update on the disc is for those people who do not have internet connections i presume

    if you are confidant your wii is same region as disc then update should be ok - please confirm this prior to doing it though
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2007

Share This Page