1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

spiderman

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by joebarby, Oct 22, 2004.

  1. joebarby

    joebarby Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried to backup Spiderman Tobey Maguire Special Edition. At first there was a read error so first had to decrypt before shrinking, then all seemed to go well until I tried to playback the dvd and the movie will only play with commentary drowning out the audio. Is anyone familliar with this movie having any encryption trouble that causes this problem?

    Question 2

    DVD Decrypter creates two files when it saves to HD, an ".MDS file and an ISO file" I don't think shrink needs the MDS file so what purpose does it serve?

    Question 3

    I have two virtual cd programs and I can't unerstand either is there a forum that deals with this issue?


    __________________
     
  2. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    So sorry, I don't understand what you're asking for your question 1 OR question 3.

    As for your second question,

    Think of it like a left-hand turn signal on a car, IF you're only making right-hand turns it serves no purpose at all BUT normally pple don't go around ripping them out - other proggys have a good use for the MDS file, like DVD Decrypter - it doesn't want the ISO file at all, the MDS file is the only one it will take -

    Cheers,

    Pete

     
  3. uponthis

    uponthis Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    [bold]
    [/bold]

    I believe what you need to do while playing the movie is: go into the Audio setting (seems it's set on Audio:English (2 Ch AC-3)). Change it to: Audio:English (5.1 Ch AC-3). That should solve your problem
     
  4. joebarby

    joebarby Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    On my stand alones and on the PC players (and I nhave several) all give the directors cut audio (no other options and no other aoudo is available at any menue level). All the special feature setup menues are disabled on the copy except the chapter choice menue, try as I may, I only have that audio available to use on the disk. I am using Shrink 3.2 and basically use all the default settings and burn using decrypter.

    I did full disk operation editing out only the french and spanish to cut down on compression. the first time i tried a deep analysis in shrink there were errors, so i used decrypter and ran the decryptor created ISO file through shrink again and no errors occurred. but what I ended up with is a unusable backup with omly the voice-over audio. if possible, perhaps the dvd was so encrypted by the manufacturer as to prevent any usable copy? thanks about the reply


    Please let me know if you need anymore info.

    Thanks Joe
     
  5. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Hi Joe,

    Actually, it's not possible. To date there's no encryption we can't break.

    BTW, you have made no statements about the original, how does it play ? How about all the audio and menus on it, do they read and act OK ?

    When you use DVD Decrypter to make an ISO image, it should be an exact dup of the original.

    Have you tried to use DVD Decrypter in the IFO mode to check and eliminate all faulty files ?


     
  6. joebarby

    joebarby Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tested the original; and the special features as well as the the other menue features are inopperative, so I'mm thinking the original recordings may be bad. I am using Maxell -R so the media is likely good. Like I stated, my first attempt at the shrink/anylize process kept getting errors so I decrypted first then shrank process and got no errors so I burned. maybe it was a bad burn but I cant risk wasting another disk until I explore all options...

    I am unfamilliar with the term "IFO" as I am pretty much a ripper newbie I used Xcopy Gold 3.0.2 w/express) in the past and was satisfied with the limitations. I lost xcopy after a HD reformat and discovered the company went belly up and I cant register the software anymore and I cant find a workable keygen for that version But when I discovered I can rip the entire contents with shrink I prefere this method. after 20 or so successful burns I lost my original version of shrink (I thought I had it on cd but it was lost and the new version I have is different and has given me three bad burns and 2 or 3 good ones.
     
  7. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Joe,

    Joe come on, read your own post. If it doesn't work IT IS BAD, how could it be anything else ?
    I'm truly sorry, I can't follow your train of thought -First off, why don't you use RW discs and secondly, You already said it was inoperative - What did you think these programs would do ? Magically go into the original and create a new DVD ?

    RIF Guides Glossary

    Of course you can - RIF http://dvdxcopy.afterdawn.com/

    http://www.dvdshrink.org/where.html RIF

    It is not possible for DVD Shrink to give you bad burns RIF, perhaps the fault is elsewhere -

    Cheers,
     
  8. joebarby

    joebarby Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm sorry my posts have caused confusion (or even laughter at my inexperience), I guess my biggest drawback is that I only have moments at a time to spend at the computer. I'll try be more thorough in my posts and replies.

    -------------------------------------------------
    Joe come on, read your own post. If it doesn't work IT IS BAD, how could it be anything else ?
    -------------------------------------------------
    AND
    -------------------------------------------------------
    I'm truly sorry, I can't follow your train of thought -First off, why don't you use RW discs and secondly, You already said it was inoperative - What did you think these programs would do ? Magically go into the original and create a new DVD ?
    -------------------------------------------------------

    It was at the suggestion of someone on this forum that I test the original (it never even occurred to me that an original could be bad) and it was only moments before I posted here that I performed the test on the original.

    I think that is a good idea to get a rewrite and test each burn before I risk a disk on what could turn out as a bad copy


    ----------------------------------------
    It is not possible for DVD Shrink to give you bad burns RIF, perhaps the fault is elsewhere -

    Cheers,
    ------------------------------------------

    My mistake; I realize that shrink doesn't do the burn but it does make the files that are burned by other programs, and the problem with my getting only the "directors cut" audio with my copy of spiderman still remains a mystery to me because (even though the original does show to be flawed) the original, at least, plays the main feature with no apperrent disfunction. So I would assume that the copy would give me the correct audio tracks even if the originals menue functions are corrupted or bad. I only eliminated the foriegn language audios during copying. All other settings were unchanged from default which produced good results in the past.

    I read on another forum that someone had the exact same audio problem with "Passiion of the Christ", I intend to try and find that post again and see if there was a resolution to that problem and if it could apply to my situation!

    As to my comment about bad burns, I had two bad copies trying to use Nero to burn with. when I let shrink use Nero, it created many, many small files in the chosen directory instead of the one BIG ISO file. Maybe that is normal (I don"t know). But I guess I have only myself to blame for experimenting with new software before doing the homework! I wish I had more time for searching for and reading guide info...


     
  9. joebarby

    joebarby Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm sorry my posts have caused confusion (or even laughter at my inexperience), I guess my biggest drawback is that I only have moments at a time to spend at the computer. I'll try be more thorough in my posts and replies.

    -------------------------------------------------
    Joe come on, read your own post. If it doesn't work IT IS BAD, how could it be anything else ?
    -------------------------------------------------
    AND
    -------------------------------------------------------
    I'm truly sorry, I can't follow your train of thought -First off, why don't you use RW discs and secondly, You already said it was inoperative - What did you think these programs would do ? Magically go into the original and create a new DVD ?
    -------------------------------------------------------

    It was at the suggestion of someone on this forum that I test the original (it never even occurred to me that an original could be bad) and it was only moments before I posted here that I performed the test on the original.

    I think that is a good idea to get a rewrite and test each burn before I risk a disk on what could turn out as a bad copy


    ----------------------------------------
    It is not possible for DVD Shrink to give you bad burns RIF, perhaps the fault is elsewhere -

    Cheers,
    ------------------------------------------

    My mistake; I realize that shrink doesn't do the burn but it does make the files that are burned by other programs, and the problem with my getting only the "directors cut" audio with my copy of spiderman still remains a mystery to me because (even though the original does show to be flawed) the original, at least, plays the main feature with no apperrent disfunction. So I would assume that the copy would give me the correct audio tracks even if the originals menue functions are corrupted or bad. I only eliminated the foriegn language audios during copying. All other settings were unchanged from default which produced good results in the past.

    I read on another forum that someone had the exact same audio problem with "Passiion of the Christ", I intend to try and find that post again and see if there was a resolution to that problem and if it could apply to my situation!

    As to my comment about bad burns, I had two bad copies trying to use Nero to burn with. when I let shrink use Nero, it created many, many small files in the chosen directory instead of the one BIG ISO file. Maybe that is normal (I don"t know). But I guess I have only myself to blame for experimenting with new software before doing the homework! I wish I had more time for searching for and reading guide info...

    Thanks so much for all your input. I am learning alot for having so little time and experence with dvd software (or any current software for that matter).


     
  10. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Joe,

    Joe, I'm not laughing, I was frustrated at not being able to understand you -

    That was me Joe, I asked about the original :)

    OK, let 's work with that, IF we rip the original with DVD Decrypter using ISO - Read , Mode, pick it up with DVD Shrink and use DVD Decrypter to burn an ISO image we may get it to work, that is a maybe ! With a messed up original, it's all a crap shoot.

    Try the guide in the middle of this page -

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2/74599

    Question, why don't you return it and get a decent copy ?

    BTW,
    When you're using Nero, look on the backup page and you'll see it makes a AUDIO_TS folder and a VIDEO_TS folder. These folders are filled with IFO files, BUP files and VOB files. All of these equal your movie. It's simply a different way to move video information.

    Unfortunately if you wish to learn a new skill or technique you have to make time, no one can learn for you -

    Cheers,

    "P"
     
  11. joebarby

    joebarby Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Question, why don't you return it and get a decent copy ?

    I tried, unfortunately there was only one other and they are all old, used and of the same bad batch. I'm going to return it friday and maybe by then I can copy it and won't have to hassle with looking for or waiting for a clean disk. Tomorrow I'll get a dvd-rw and experiment. If it won't work, I'll try to copy it on VHS tape (if that'll even work)...

    thanks for all the advice
     
  12. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    Try using that guide, it should make an exact copy (hopefully) :)

    "P"


     
  13. joebarby

    joebarby Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well I finally made time to mess arround with Spiderman and all the media software I could lay my hands on and it seems that there is a DVD that cloning software can't exactly duplicate! "SPIDERMAN Tobey Maguire SP-ED"

    I still can't find out why the first copy picked up only the directors cut audio (maybe the
    grandkids clicked the mouse when I wasn't looking). But at least I managed to copy the main
    features of the darn thing. I also managed to get additional audio featuresonly available on PC mouse controls (right click and get root menu, audio menu and scene select menu) no special features at all.

    On the original there are very nice features that can only be viewed on the original with compatibility software hidden on the disk that interacts only with the PC DVD viewer "InterActual Player" supplied on the Spiderman disk which gives added features like "side by side, split screen, simultaneous viewing of both the main feature and well illustrated comic strips, and the ability to add your own commentary, and there is more! No copy thus far has been able to pick up on these hidden features or the DVD InterActual Player software. On my stand alone DVD players we only get the main feature with the original and the copies.


    I cloned with the larest versions of Shrink/ decrypter/ Nero,- DVD Clone/AnyDVD,- DVD XCopy Platinum and the closest I have come thus far is XCopy Rescue which detected the files on the disk and still burned onlt the stuff the othe cloners did something about "read of scrambled sectors not allowed".

    Right now I'm experimenting with Ultra ISO, it seems to recognise the entire disk content but I just acquired the program and still need to figure it out, and am about to check out virtual drives as well. I'll repost if I can figure something out.

    Please offer some help if you have any experience with this puzzel...

    Joe
     

Share This Page