1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spliting a single track

Discussion in 'Audio' started by Tantos82, Jun 21, 2011.

  1. Tantos82

    Tantos82 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all

    My band are trying to record some of our music. the problem is the mixer only allows you to record 2 tracks at a time.

    So if we record the Bass guitar and lead guitar on 1 track can you then split that track?

    thanks
     
  2. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Using The likes of Audacity, it allows you to split and save a track.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. Tantos82

    Tantos82 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks I will give it a try now!
     
  4. Mez

    Mez Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,936
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    attar, will that really split a track into the different instruments???? That was the question, I think. I am just wondering how that was done. I didn't think Audacity was nearly that 'smart'. I understand how if you recorded 2 instruments left and 2 right you can seperate the left and right. Maybe that was the question and I didn't get it.
     
  5. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I surmised they were on separate channels - so it won't work.

    You might consider the Videohelp site - it has some audio buffs.

    http://forum.videohelp.com/
     
  6. Tantos82

    Tantos82 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I wanted to split the instruments. Is there a way of doing this?
     
  7. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  8. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  9. Mez

    Mez Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,936
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Software is not sophisticated enough to pick out an instrument from another. You need to record one instrument at a time if you want them on separate tracks. That is what the usually pros do if they want each instrument on a track. They can afford better equipment than you. What you are asking is like taking 2 hand fulls of sand each a different color. You but them in a bottle and shake them up so they are mixed then you want to separate the sand back into pure colors again. It is much easier to keep them separate all along.
     
  10. k00ka

    k00ka Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You can't un-bake a cake, un-fry an egg, or un-mix a recording...
     

Share This Page