1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spoofing and new dash yet again

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by TonyJer, Jun 13, 2011.

  1. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi

    Have Benq spoofed as Hit 79 and previously reflashed Benq with LT+1.0 (original spoof used LT 1.2. Am I right in thinking that the new dreaded dash will revert my console to Hit stock? If this is so is there a risk that the dash update will not complete as it will be looking for a Hit in the console and not a Benq.

    Really just want to know how I can continue using the Benq (have the key etc and never use live).

    Many thanks

    Longshanks
     
  2. keebles

    keebles Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I myself don't have a modded 360(wanted to keep mine stock), but I have read on here number of times that if you don't have the original dvd drive in the xbox, it will either fail to update giving you an error code of e66

    E66: DVD Drive Error - Dvd drive pairing failure: DVD model, or version does not match that of the version expected by the dashboard. OR the firmware version on the drive is older then the firmware version expected by the dashboard. Make sure the DVD drive is of the same version originally included with the console and that it is using either the original firmware included with the console or newer. if drive can eject, read, and write under windows but errors on console, replacing original firmware should fix issue.
    http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=484726


    or simply just wipes the dvd drive of what ever firmware that is on it and will result in a blank firmware on the drive.
     
  3. infam0us

    infam0us Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    u wont be able to update unless you have your original drive
     
  4. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Spoofed drives don't work on the new dash. You should buy a hitachi 79 off ebay and flash to that. Then you can update and get back on live as long as you have the OFW.
     
  5. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi Many thanks for the info. Have the Hit 79 and the OFW so no problem. Might I just clarify two other things:

    1. Is the consensus still flash to stock, update dash then flash with 1.9? It's just that I thought that the dash update returned to stock anyway!

    2. Is there no way I can spoof back to the Benq with 1.9 at a later date or does JF not allow this?

    Best wishes
     
  6. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The dash won't even update with the benQ in there. It will detect it and then flag you for a ban and then won't even update. So flash to stock, update, then flash to 1.9 with a hitachi 79 drive with OFW and it will work
     
  7. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks again

    Could you then at a later date stick the Benq back in and try to spoof back to that?

    This guy definitely installed the new dash on an already spoofed drive.

    http://team-xecuter.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66434

    Just thought someone would like to comment on this guy's procedure.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
  8. AbouRizzy

    AbouRizzy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried that guys procedure on my spoofed xbox 360 and it works. I dont know how long it will last on live but I put the new OFW on my Benq (spoofed as a liteon), updated, and then flashed to LT+1.9 and I am on live playing backups.
     
  9. bopiang

    bopiang Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    can u give more details? step by step?

    1- u have a spoofed benq as liteon?
    2- u flashed OFW (which ofw), flashed as spoofed? flashed as benq w/ liteon key w/o spoof?
    3- u update dash?
    4- flash to 1.9 (do u flash as spoof liteon or just flash 1.9 as benq)

    thanks you
     
  10. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,826
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Wrong. I flashed a Console with a BenQ spoofed as a Samsung and had no problems at all. Console works like a charm.
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    TonyJer, read this.
    12. Repeated posts to increase total number of posts is not allowed. Especially if your message is the last in the thread, edit it rather than post a new message.
    posts edited & deleted.
     
  12. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Correct, but you have to update the dash with the ORIG drive first. Then you can spoof the drive. (liteon and benQ). Samsung and Hitachis are not effected.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
  13. bopiang

    bopiang Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so , what is the step needed for spoofed drive?
    my liteon original drive fried its chip.

    tqvm
     
  14. Eisherz

    Eisherz Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,826
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    I updated with the spoofed drive. Could be that the drive was recognized as a Samsung and therefore not erased.
    But that is actually quite good to know. At the Moment I am using a Box with the same drive spoofed as a defective LiteOn (the Samsung box didn't have a HDMI port), next time I update that box when the next (fall?) dashboard comes out I am going to switch the drives first.
     
  15. bopiang

    bopiang Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks. i just flashed benq to 1.9 (original drive is lite-on)
     

Share This Page