1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spring Update - Just updated with MS25 & Xtreme 5.3c

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by shinnster, May 9, 2007.

  1. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just updated the dash board, i have an ms25 running xtrme 5.3 and it went fine. Box still boots up and games play fine, originals and back ups :)
     
  2. SilvaJDS

    SilvaJDS Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have 360 , and i wanna update but is flashed is it safe or wat?
     
  3. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i cant tell you if its safe or not but i have updated mine and it seems to be working ok.
    MS25 with xtreme 5.3
     
  4. andro1d

    andro1d Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Has anyone actually tried going on with 5.2? It's suggested to update but I'm just wondering if anyone has done live with 5.2 and been ok.
     
  5. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I was checking xbox scene earlier and there are a few posts from people that have been on with 5.2 and it worked ok.
     
  6. touran22

    touran22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    do u update to extreme 5.3 the same way u updated to 5.2? Also how do u update over your current version i.e 5.2?
     
  7. theridges

    theridges Guest

    you will most likely have to use the bad flash method to update to 5.3...this is because 5.2 put firmguard on your Drive...

    http://360mods.net/
    Says that all Drives are okay and safe to go and update no matter what firmware you have...Front page news
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 9, 2007
  8. ha9981

    ha9981 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so the way to update for ms28 is make x53b out of original and then flash it using mtkflash commands and ten second wait right? im updating from 52 to 53!
     
  9. theridges

    theridges Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: May 9, 2007
  10. ha9981

    ha9981 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    k thx
     
  11. touran22

    touran22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    but u see on the new bootmaker... doesnt it use some new flasher... the one before used samhack doesnt this uses some new one?... "samtool"
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2007
  12. bailey07

    bailey07 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ive updated with 5.2 no problem.
     
  13. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    On the new bootmaker i think it uses xread and xflash.
    Personally i dont use these and just type the mtk flash command.
     
  14. touran22

    touran22 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    so what you use the old boot maker with the the fix to load the 5.3 firmware... i think the older version is 0.5 RC1? bootmaker right? and then when you boot to DOS you type samhack?
     
  15. yoclick

    yoclick Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have ms25, not been on here for ages, in fact i havent been on the xbox for ages (my bro is the one who lives on Live!). Currently were running 5.2a, done my research and found out there was a 5.3 AND why it was made. Then i find out the update is fine to install anyway.

    Well since my bro has been online today, i must presume he just downloaded the update and its working fine. However should i be worried Microsoft may just be waiting to collect enough systems and then do a massive cut off? Should i update to 5.3 or should i just ignore it and carry on?

    Thanks
     
  16. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I use xbm version 0.3.6 to create my boot disk. i create my firmware in the firmwate package itself ( the make xtreme firmware batchfile)
    Once my xtreme firmware is made(X53C) i open that up in 360 toolbox to make sure the key is correct.
    i then place that file onto my pre made boot disk, boot to dos and then all i do is type mtkflash w /m /sata X53C.bin
    this then gives me the option of my drives, i turn my box off, select my drive, turn my box on after 10 seconds and it starts flashing.


    @yoclick

    it may be wise to update to 5.3 just for the added feature of disc jitter which will apparantly help to prevent them from detecting your back up :)
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2007
  17. PS2Menace

    PS2Menace Regular member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Wow, that's the same way I do it everytime ;)
    except that I use xtreme 5.3 A

    I updated this morning before I left for work.. around 5:20 am EST or something and downloaded Double Dragon. I'll play that now.
     
  18. shinnster

    shinnster Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26

    thats cause i used your guide as it was the easiest way to do it, never goes wrong :)
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2007
  19. nycfusion

    nycfusion Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a firmware version 4.2.
    Is that detecable or should I update before I go online again??
     
  20. ha9981

    ha9981 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    none of them are detectable as it seems! but you should update it is recommended.
     

Share This Page