1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSD boot up issue.

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by ArcherMalorie, Feb 2, 2014.

  1. ArcherMalorie

    ArcherMalorie Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    A good friend of mine wanted me to build him a new rig. Parts are the following:

    1. AMD FX 8350 CPU
    2. CORSAIR H80 cooler
    3. ASUS SABRETOOTH AM3+ Motherboard
    4. LG 3-D BLU RAY BURNER
    5. KINGSTON HYPER X 3K 240 GB SSD DRIVE
    6. SEAGATE 2TB HDD 64MB 7200 RPM
    7. CORSAIR OBSIDIAN 650D CASE
    8. ULTRA X4 850 WATT PSU
    9. EVGA GEFORCE 770 GTX 4GB Classified Edition
    10. 8 GB Kingston HYPER X BLUE DDR3 1600MHZ RAM
    11. WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE EDITION 64BIT w SP1

    Once all assembled, I then go on to Turning on ACHI mode on the Bios.
    I Installed Windows 7 Ultimate on the SSD drive.
    Installed Motherboard Drivers, Video Card Drivers, Google Chrome, and all the windows updates (took forever) and not one issue with the updates. But for some reason upon the last set of updates ( again no failures in the logs) now the SSD drive hangs on the STARTING WINDOWS screen for 35 seconds and the four dots that forms the windows logo are not showing up until after the 35 second wait. Then it's 5-6 seconds to load windows completely. No issues running benchmarks, even double checked to see if trimming is enabled and it is. I even tried a sata reset by unplugging the sata connectors on both ends of the SSD and the MB for a few minutes and still the same OS loading issue. Besides that the computer operates phenomenal. Any suggestions or anything I may have overlooked please let me know. My friends put a good penny into this.

    Thank you all very much,
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2014
  2. OldSchoolCPU

    OldSchoolCPU Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sounds like an anti virus program is doing a pre boot scan. You did not mention installing one, so, at this point, it's just a guess.
     
  3. ArcherMalorie

    ArcherMalorie Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The only one I installed was Windows Security Essentials.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,075
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    do a system restore to before the problem started as ms has had issues with their updates at times lately.
     
  5. ArcherMalorie

    ArcherMalorie Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks I will advise.
     

Share This Page