1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSD help

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by durkinjt, Oct 3, 2014.

  1. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ould use a little help. Just got a SSD HD. 125G, came with no indtructions, I have a Lenovo K450 that has a drive for SSD, set it in the slot, shows up on device manager and speccy, but not on "This PC". Have never had a SSD before and tried Google and got nowhere, any help greatly appreciated.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    going into a laptop or a tower?
     
  3. megadunderhead

    megadunderhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    SSD's Are not universal compatible they only work on certain boards with certain bios's on the board there are 3 mac mini's where the ssd won't read in even with the write connection in order to fix this on a pc or laptop to get a SSD to properly work your laptop must contain sata 2.1 to sata 3.1 in order to function with a SSD sata 2.0 won't work nor will sata 1.1 which was found in a lot of lenovo computers and even e-machines ewww. i can't even say that without cringing .
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is the system specs of that "pc"?
     
  5. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks, I have a Lenovo K450 it is a desktop that comes with a SSD slot so I must assume the computer is SSD capable.
     
  6. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    2T HD 12G Ram, i7 Cpu
     
  7. megadunderhead

    megadunderhead Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    even if it has a slot i would check on lenovo's website to see if its not model specific hp media center pc's use to have a ssd slot as well before they went to windows 8.0 and 8.1 and theres wouldn't read anything but a ssd that was made by them so i would go through the computers manual
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    durkinjt, you should be all right with those specs for the ssd. is it going to be the os drive which it should or the data drive? have you checked in diskmanagement in control panel to setup the drive as you would with a regular drive?
     
  9. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Honestly I have never had to set up a drive. I will give it a shot, I assume it might have to be formatted? Any help as to what to look for? Thanks
     
  10. durkinjt

    durkinjt Regular member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Want to thank everyone for the kind help, went to Drive Management and figured it out , works great.
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    no problem, teach & learn.
     

Share This Page