1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stand alone player says "No Disk"

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by mikeDcpa, Mar 22, 2005.

1. mikeDcpa

mikeDcpa Guest

I'm pretty new to this, so bear with me. I got a new computer a few weeks ago and and having fun playing with my first DVD burner. I have been using DVDShrink and Memorex DVD+R 8x media for a few weeks, and burned about 40 backup movies without any problems. All of a sudden, I've made 6 coasters in my last 10 tries. I'm not getting an error message on my computer, but when I put the disk in a stand alone player, it says "No Disk." Since I'm not getting any error message from Shrink, could I have a problem with my burner, or is it most likely the poor media I'm using?

Thanks in advance.

2. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

[bold]Memorex DVD+R 8x media [/bold]

Whatever program you are using to burn,nero/dvd decrypter, these programs will tell you the manufacturers ID on them.
    Memorex are not highly recommeded-quality issues among their many different manufacturers that make their media.

Has anything changed on your memorex,different spindles?
    How fast do you burn?

Use dvdinfopro to check your mfg code and has a scan disc test if you don't have nero: http://www.dvdinfopro.com

Find that mfg code and report back.

3. mikeDcpa

mikeDcpa Guest