1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Starview and N*L MMDS - can it work ?

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by mrjag, Jun 27, 2007.

  1. mrjag

    mrjag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi there. Can someone please help me! I have seen conflicting messages on different forums and am confused! I have a starview receiver and moved into a new house(Co Galway) in last few days. N*L said they can connect via an aerial on roof (MMDS) and I can get an analogue or digital package from them. Does anyone know for sure, if the starview will work from this set up (and whether I need to order the digital package or analogue one from N*L) ??? Please help me !
     
  2. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I know that it works fine on N** Dublin MMDS network. So I would say you should be OK. CH**** MMDS is a problem in most places as it works through DVT and not DVC.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2007
  3. mrjag

    mrjag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What is DVC? Do I need to get the analogue or digital package or does it matter? How can I find out what it works through?
     
  4. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If you have N** I would not worry about this it is basically a different tuner type.
     
  5. mrjag

    mrjag Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have just moved into the house. There is nothing connected yet. I will order N*L if I can use the starview. My other option I guess is to get a sky satellite connection. There is a dish on the house (sky one I think) already but no receiver box in the house. Dont know what to do. What you recommend. Thanks for the help. I am tempted to just get the N*L and hopefully the starview will work.
     
  6. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96


    N** should be fine for your area as you know a lot of these boxes have been sold in Galway for obvious reasons. If you opt for a satellite connection starview will not work and you will be into a whole other area. Yes you can get boxes that work with satellite but you will end up in the complicated areas of different types of cards, boxes, images, programming etc.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2007
  7. ryanmg

    ryanmg Guest

    i think they do work on mmd but i think the channels go off for a couple of secs now and again
     
  8. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Good afternoon Ryan :)
     
  9. ryanmg

    ryanmg Guest

    alright sc0user :)
     
  10. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Headin out for lunch seems quite here see you in a while :)
     
  11. ryanmg

    ryanmg Guest

    cu l8r
     
  12. rickhead

    rickhead Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    does chorus work on mmds here in dunlaoghaire any one no of it
     
  13. MAINAMN

    MAINAMN Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    check ur roof mate, if the cable is connected to an arial on your roof , then its mmds. If its cabled to underground then its 'true cable'
     

Share This Page