1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

starview clone problems

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by stewarty3, Feb 18, 2008.

  1. stewarty3

    stewarty3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my starview clone had froze, stopped working. Now the green lights on the front are on flashing across continuis. Cannot get a picture. Is there anyway I can reboot it???
     
  2. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Reflash it with 2.57eE fixed.

    You will need a null modem cable DB9F to DB9F.

    Null Modem Cable

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=29968&C=Maplin&U=SearchTop&T=rs232 usb adapter&doy=18m2

    If your pc does not have a serial port you will need a USB to serial port adapter to use in conjunction with the null modem cable.

    USB Adapter info

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?Modu...erial Adaptor

    These two cable links are only for reference as they can be purchased alot cheaper on fleabay.

    All firmware/loader can be found in the link at the end of my post marked Eamos FTA Library.

    You will need the GTromloader V4, (Starvi*w Software Uploader), found in the Starvi*w software folder of the link.

    You will need version V2.57eE Fixed fo a CLONE box, found in "Starvi*w" firmware folder.


    Updating Firmware

    Connect your box and PC with a Null modem cable and switch on the cable box and put it on STANDBY.
    (The Starview does not need to be connected to TV to update it with GTROM)

    Open GTROM Loader software make sure that you set the correct COM PORT
    that matches the one that is being used

    Make sure App file only is selected, then click Bin File & browse to the firmware where you downloaded it to on your PC.

    Run the GTROM loader by pressing Download and you will see the % progress increase
    then Download completed message on your PC.
    Wait until you see the DOWNLOAD COMPLETE pop up on your PC before
    removing the NULL MODEM CABLE. The Starvi*w will then reboot

    Turn off and turn back on , then plug your tv cable and scart back in
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2008
  3. resh

    resh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    my clone starview box stopped working, only the zero appears on the front screen, when plugged in, no menu comes up on the t.v, none of the buttons work on the remote (even when batteries have been changed) and i can't go to any factory setup menu and i can't scan for any channels.
     
  4. stewarty3

    stewarty3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    downloaded the fix for the starview clone, once it had complete I searched for all the channels. Once this was done I turned on the emu to on and put a channel on. It was fine for a few seconds, sound and picture. Then the picture froze and the sound continuted for a few seconds then it stopped switched itself on and of and would just repeat the same process.
     
  5. cableview

    cableview Guest

    you need a new cap replaced on your box i do it for £5 thats with the correct autorolling firmware on it.
     
  6. cableview

    cableview Guest

    stewarty you need to put the 257 fixed file on it again sounds to me a bad flash.
     
  7. resh

    resh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
     
  8. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
  9. resh

    resh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  10. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Presume you fixed it :)
     
  11. resh

    resh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    had a help from friend
     
  12. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Easy once you know how.
     

Share This Page