1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Starview some channels OK, others not?

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by lfctv, Sep 15, 2007.

  1. lfctv

    lfctv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, I got a starview box a week ago and have been reading all the threads here trying to get it working. API version 4.00e_E. I've done a factory reset, picked up 150 channels on NTL, set EMU on and checked the keys match the most up-to-date keys, all good.
    Line 00 = A9 86 6E EA 39 EA 09 49
    Line 01 = 9E 40 85 78 E7 82 10 06

    Some of the channels work OK, e.g. Bloomberg, Channel 6, but most of the Sky Sports and other channels are intermittently scrambled "bad channel" or stuttering with green squares and audio squeeks, to varying degrees. Can anyone advise me what I can do? It's a Starview box bought from UK, genuine, with 25x7 vents.
     
  2. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You could try this

    Menu > Factory Setting
    PIN 0000
    OK to delete

    Turn box off at the back for a minute and turn back on

    English > Installation
    Choose N*L etc
    Automatic Scan
    Press OK
    176 Channels found
    Exit

    Menu 1570
    Turn EMU key ON

    Exit , exit , exit
     
  3. lfctv

    lfctv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks I gave that a try, no joy. All the channels from 1 up until around 38 are pretty much OK, then starting with Setanta Golf it starts getting scrambled.
     
  4. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    i would say a downgraded signal from cc causing problem
     
  5. lfctv

    lfctv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    You mean the quality of the feed is not good enough? Is there anything I can do about it? Would a Starview 2 box with faster processor make any difference?
     
  6. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    many reports coming in of lost chs from cc might rectify itself due to maintenance.
     
  7. lfctv

    lfctv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What does CC stand for? When you say downgraded, does that mean N** have actually reduced the signal strength? Why would they do that?!
     
  8. eamo32

    eamo32 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    CC = Cable Company

    The signal has been downgraded in some areas. You say you got the starview a week ago, did you get it working right away, and has the problem been apparent from day 1, or has it just started.
    It could of course just be that the cc is carrying out maintenance in your area, or even upgrading the equipment. There is a lot of work ongoing at the moment.
     
  9. lfctv

    lfctv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No, I have tried the box in 4 different houses in 4 different areas of Dublin, same thing everywhere. I'm starting to think I have a faulty box.
     
  10. lfctv

    lfctv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Can anyone recomend a better box? Starview seems to be the standard that everyone has.
     
  11. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    ifctv
    next box up digivox working epg. are u going thru aerial splitter as this weakens signal?
     
  12. lfctv

    lfctv Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Not using an aerial splitter, going straight in to the wall, so to speak. Is the Digivox the same as the Eurovox? Where would you recommend buying it, reputable Ebay seller?
     
  13. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    click on bannerlink above mainahm will sort u out [eurovox] he also does digivox + others .centre banner[ bbc ]
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2007
  14. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Only Eurovox 2007 & 2008 has been affected by the signal downgrade is some areas in Dublin the Starview will still work in these areas.
     

Share This Page