1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Starview "The Box"

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by IrishDave, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. IrishDave

    IrishDave Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,
    I have just ordered my new Starview "The Box".
    I have been using the older one and decided it was time for an upgrade.
    Will my new box be ready to use when it arrives or will I have to program/download the info?
    Will it auto-update when the codes are scrambled?
    Does the 7 day guide really work?
    I am living in Dublin.
     
  2. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    Saying all that all the info you need to do the above is here.
     
  3. IrishDave

    IrishDave Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Cheers,
    Do you have a link for "firmware to version 4.50"?
     
  4. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    All you need can be found in Eamos FTA Library link at the end of my post. For the box you need Version 4.50 for Ireland , (Found in "The Box" Firmware folder). You also need the Gtromloader,(Found in Starview Software folder). You will find a full guide in the Starview Documentation folder called Starview Guide PDF. This will show you how to flash your box.

    You will also need a null modem cable similar to this:

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=L71BT&DOY=2m6

    If you only have a laptop, more than likely it will not have a D9 serial port and you will also need a USB serial port adapter to use in conjunction with the null modem cable.

    USB Adapter Cable http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?ModuleNo=29968&DOY=17m6&tabs=n

    These are only for reference and can be purchased much cheaper on fleabay.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2007
  5. IrishDave

    IrishDave Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have downloaded the bin file and the pdf file.

    Thank you for all your help.
     
  6. IrishDave

    IrishDave Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The GTRom is V.4.0
    Is that ok?
     
  7. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yep thats only the loader software for loading the 4.5 firmware.
     
  8. IrishDave

    IrishDave Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    cheers again! :)
     
  9. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    Youre Welcome, any problems just drop back :)
     

Share This Page