1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

starview

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by macl, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. macl

    macl Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    need help

    starview box just went dead anywhere in Dublin that they can be repired?
     
  2. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Did you update your box ?

    I will see if I can get someone to help
     
  3. macl

    macl Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    updated last week worked for the week and just died
     
  4. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Have you a clone or genuine and what firmware did you install
     
  5. MAINAMN

    MAINAMN Active member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It is a clone. genuine starviews or 'the box ' would not die if firmware was put on them !.
    Im afraid the upgrade u put on has killed your box!
    but it can be fixed (jtaged). so get onto celtic71 about fixing it ....
     
  6. macl

    macl Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Forgive ignorance how would i know the difference between a clone and an original?all I know about the upgrade that it was firmware 4!
    does that sound right.
     
  7. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96


    Go to the link at the end of my post marked Starview Info (Dooby2oon), this will show you wheter you have a clone or genuine box.
     
  8. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    V4 is for genuines , therefore if you put this on a clone it would kill it

    Count the vents on top , clone = 18x7 and genuine is 25x7
     
  9. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ello Scouser :)
     
  10. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    Ello Celt oh better mention Starview as we are not supposed to be off topic so Starview :)
     
  11. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I am very surprised it has gone this long without a code change
     
  12. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    Only problem was code changes were not just to kill off the boxes. They were actually caused by upgrade changes as well. So I would say it will happen on and off for a while, just not as often.

    UP*, (N** & C*****), are introducing a new PVR box something similar to Sly Plus boxes, and therefore the cabling had to be updated in most areas.
     
  13. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I did notice a new cable went up in my area about 3 weeks ago
     
  14. macl

    macl Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    afraid I am in possision of a clone can I get it repaired?
     
  15. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    Is there green lights flashing on the front display or is it totally dead?
     
  16. macl

    macl Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    no sign of life completely dead
     
  17. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    You need it jtagged to bring it back to life send a pm to Fergusrb, he is in Kildare and doing jtags, tell him I sent you.
     
  18. macl

    macl Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the help
     
  19. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96

    No problem ferg will sort it for you
     

Share This Page