1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

'Staview' Any views?

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by sanjiro30, Nov 1, 2007.

  1. sanjiro30

    sanjiro30 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Anybody know how to fix problem, when I first got box worked fine very rarely scambled channel with blank screen and a message something like 'no information, bad channel'. Now this was tolerable as it was infrequent now it happens all the time at crucial moments ie: free kicks etc......any suggestions....

    PS: I dont turn the box off at night, leave on standby is this ok?

    All help greatly appreciated....(oh its the orignal starview box not the version two pasted on eb*y.
    Ta
     
  2. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    press menu > System Information and tell me what the API is
     
  3. sanjiro30

    sanjiro30 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello

    Thanks for replying been away for awhile, ok it says:

    API ver: 3.00e_E
    Boot ver: 7.0

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. CO19

    CO19 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You should update the API to version 4.00 which will stop the channel scrambling.
     
  5. sanjiro30

    sanjiro30 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    Next question how do you update API to version 4?

    Thanks
     
  6. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You will need a null modem cable DB9F to DB9F.

    Null modem info here

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=L71BT&DOY=2m6

    If your pc does not have a serial port you will need a USB to serial port adapter to use in conjunction with the null modem cable.

    USB Adapter info here

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx...lin&U=SearchTop&T=usb serial adapter&doy=8m11

    These two cable links are only for reference as they can be purchased alot cheaper on fleabay.

    All firmware/loader can be found in the link at the end of my post marked Eamos FTA Library.

    You will need the GTromloader, (Starview Software Uploader), found in the Starview software folder of the link.

    You will need version 4.00 firmware found in the Starview firmware folder.

    And please download the Starview PDF guide, this will give you step by step instructions on how to do everything.This can be found in the Starview Documentation folder in the link.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2007
  7. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You will need a null modem cable DB9F to DB9F.

    Null modem info

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Search.aspx?criteria=L71BT&DOY=2m6

    If your pc does not have a serial port you will need a USB to serial port adapter to use in conjunction with the null modem cable.

    USB Adapter info

    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx...t10&doy=search&MenuName=USB to Serial Adaptor

    These two cable links are only for reference as they can be purchased alot cheaper on fleabay.

    All firmware/loader can be found in the link at the end of my post marked Eamos Library.

    You will need the GTromloader, (Starview Software Uploader), found in the Starview software folder of the link.

    You will need version 4.00 firmware for GENUINES found in "Starvi*w" firmware folder.

    And please download the Starview PDF guide,(similar instructions, this will give you step by step instructions on how to do everything.This can be found in the Starview Documentation folder in the link.
     
  8. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Snap again alright Celt :)
     
  9. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Ha ha Scouser , Roflmfao :)
     
  10. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Are you in for a nosey :)
     
  11. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I have about a half hour to spare before dinner :)
     
  12. sanjiro30

    sanjiro30 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11

    Thanks Celtic & Scouser much obliged, have to go and get the 9 pin adaptors tomoz, one thing I've got the software thanks, can I just link up my starview to the computer and run program or do I also have to link to my TV at same time, just my computer and tv are in separate rooms.

    My understanding is you just link the starview to computer run the dowloads and once done re-assemble the box to tv and hey presto!I hope.


    Ta.
     
  13. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yes , you disconnect the SV from the TV and connect it to the PC , put it on stand-by , run GT ROM LOader and download the firmware 4.00 and wait till the pop up 100% complete

    If you have a 9 pin port you dont need the USB adapter
     
  14. sanjiro30

    sanjiro30 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Guys (Celtic, Scouser & C019)

    Well I've done the download to version 4 let's hope it works, got the ports from Maplin, didnt realise I had a nine pin port at back - good old refunds policy.

    Anyway, just quick email to say thanks guys for all your help potentially saved me binning my SV.

    Keep up the good work.

    Sanjiro30 - S,Wales.
     
  15. CO19

    CO19 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Good stuff, I hope it works for you,which I'm sure it will ;)
     
  16. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Thanks for letting us know :)
     
  17. sanjiro30

    sanjiro30 Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Guys (Celtic, Scouser & C019)

    Well I've done the download to version 4 let's hope it works, got the ports from Maplin, didnt realise I had a nine pin port at back - good old refunds policy.

    Anyway, just quick email to say thanks guys for all your help potentially saved me binning my SV.

    Keep up the good work.

    Sanjiro30 - S,Wales.
     
  18. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    :) Your welcome
     

Share This Page