1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Steganos

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by safc_66, Feb 9, 2004.

  1. safc_66

    safc_66 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Evening all. Does anyone have any experience of Steganos Internet Anonym ? It claims, amongst other things, to change your IP address every second or minute, depending on the setting you choose.Tried it briefly tonight, haven't had the time to configure it properly, but in the window, it showed my true IP address which did indeed change every second. Fact or fiction ? Any comments welcome.

    Cheers

    Dene
     
  2. DaOsT

    DaOsT Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no ideas never heard of it here have tried various softwares but when you go to

    whatismyip.com
    My original ip always shows
    if it works cool I will have some of that
     
  3. safc_66

    safc_66 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  4. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You might pm drchips and ask him. He seems to have a bit of experience with such things.
     
  5. safc_66

    safc_66 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Good idea, mate, will do.

    Dene
     
  6. DaOsT

    DaOsT Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    safc 66 I used it last nite on 2 seperate pc's ......hhhhmmmmm at first it was ok .......and does INDEED change you ip either every second or part of a minute of your choosing

    BUT when you knock camoflage of and go back to using your own ip no browsers open period .......it was the same on 2 pc's n a lap top ........everytime you deactivate it you have to reboot which I think is shitty

    in short I personally wouldn't give a bucket of piss for it
    the thoughts of DaOsT
     
  7. DaOsT

    DaOsT Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    bear in mind I run a network on average between 2-4 pc's so the ip changing may not be good for he network but I honestly dun rate it .........if someone can config it properly lemme know I will reinstall it ......an ip every few seconds never hurt anyone
    DaOsT
     
  8. safc_66

    safc_66 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeah, when i tried it, it totally killed Overnet & Internet Explorer, uninstalled it & rebooted, all's well again. May be good, but it's gonna need a LOT of configuration, clashes with Norton & Zone Alarm badly, apparently (thanks drchips)

    Dene
     
  9. kaperski

    kaperski Guest

    Hi peeps,

    I've just come across *afterdawn* web site while surfing and by coincidence I'm using Steganos Internet Anonym Pro 6.

    You must make sure that,no matter what version of Steganos Anonym you're using, your Firewall must give full permission to "sia.exe" to allow Steganos Anonym to be fully functional. (Norton FW is a big No No)

    I find Steganos to be a good anonymizer, and yes it does make surfing a little slower. However if you read thier info you'll notice they do mention that fact, but they also suggest that the more you surf the speedier your surfing will become.

    Now, after praising them to the hilt, I have to tell you that I'm having a heck of a problem with Anonym Pro 6 (lol)
    All the proxy server numbers have disappeared from the proxy server list.
    I've just emailed them, so we'll see how long they take to respond.

    btw...I'd be very grateful if anyone could recommend another good anonymizer, just to let me compare it with Steganos.

    Cheers,
    kaperski.
     
  10. void911

    void911 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    *** btw...I'd be very grateful if anyone could recommend another good anonymizer, just to let me compare it with Steganos. ***

    >> multiproxy coupled with a good firewall (like outpost or kerio) For extra protection when browsing the web, use proximitron to filter or fake identifing traffic (like user agent info)
     
  11. WiggyUK

    WiggyUK Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi all.I am having trouble with Steganos Internet Anonym Pro6. Each page I visit after installing SIA Pro6 it keeps saying PAGE CANNOT BE DISPLAYED.I am only able to see/visit web pages AFTER un-installing it, surely this is defeating the object?? I have e-mailed Steganos twice and as yet they haven't responded.If NE1 can advise me on how to configure it it would be much appreciated.Many thanks.WiggyUK
     

Share This Page