1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Step by Step streaming for a noob...

Discussion in 'PS3 - Modding & Hacking' started by Vdub2, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. Vdub2

    Vdub2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was hoping that someone could tell me (the noob) how to stream video from my pc to my ps3 step by step keeping in mind that I am not as advanced as anyone on this forum. I have searched the topic and have not found any step by step instructions. Everything I have found are posts by people that already know how but are having trouble. Examples of what confuses me...

    1) Do I have to have Linux on my ps3 to stream?
    2) When explaining setups the biggest problem I run into is no one is specifically saying "on your ps3 do this" or "on your pc do this"
    3) Can I stream a torrent or does it first need to be converted?
    4) Can someone show me where to get ps3video9 other than on redkawa.com (it doesn't seem to be working, installation fails every time)

    I just want to be sure that I start from the beginning and do it right. Thanks for any help!
     
  2. NinReznor

    NinReznor Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No you dont need linux and no you cant stream torrents.
    tversity is the program you want it will convert the video aswell as stream it.

    ok get tversity just click the link ^^. install that on your PC. once its installed open it and click "file" click add file or add folder then browse. browse to where your videos, music or photos are. you can add whole folders with media in them, like lots of videos in one folder. click ok. then click submit. you will see the folder added to the sharing tab.

    if you have a wireless internet connection add TVersity to the exceptions list on windows firewall. windows should automatically ask you if you want to unblock it once it has installed if not then go to:
    start/control panel/windows firewall/exceptions/add program.
    and browse to the tversity program in program files and add it.

    power up your ps3. then click on media servers. once its finished searching it should say 1 media server found. then all you do is click on tversity on your ps3 and you'll see a list. videos, music, pictures.
    lets say you added a video folder click videos/my videos/folders. the folder that you added on your PC will be there then open it up and click whatever video you want to play. tada! streaming video.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2007
  3. Vdub2

    Vdub2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Awesome! The only problem I am having now is, where do I find "Media Servers" on my ps3?? Sorry for being, well, stupid about this stuff. Thanks again!
     
  4. guessswho

    guessswho Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    dude, it says it right under the subsection of the item you are trying to stream in the ps3 menu. Have you used the ps3? Like when you go to video, if you have any video files it will show them, but then it will also show media servers underneath them. hope that helps
     
  5. Vdub2

    Vdub2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ive only used it to play games. This is the first attempt at this stuff. I'm trying to update the ps3 firmware to 1.93 but at about 4% i get an error. Any ideas???
     
  6. liamrabey

    liamrabey Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Keep trying again - I have heard a couple of people have had this error with this update, eventually it works though.
     
  7. Vdub2

    Vdub2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, it's done. I'm successfully streaming, a little choppy though, and I have the new firmware. The issue with the 1.93 update showing an error was that I had a USB keybord and the charging cable for the remote plugged into the front. After I disconnected those it updated without a problem, strange. Thanks for everyones help on this! I only wish the video streaming was smoother. Thanks again!
     
  8. ooZEROoo

    ooZEROoo Regular member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It shouldn't be choppy. What are the specs on your computer.
     
  9. Vdub2

    Vdub2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    sorry for the delayed response. I have a 2.13 GHz core 2 duo with 2GB of RAM, 160GB HD and running Windows XP. I didn't think it would be choppy at all but i'm still having that problem.
     

Share This Page