1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Strange CD burner behavior

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Tholak, Jul 28, 2003.

  1. Tholak

    Tholak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well the problem occurs on one of my friends' computer.

    He burned 200+ cds with his burner however he faces some strange behavior of his device.He uses Nero.

    The burner starts burning and the led (Write) flashes 3 times then stops, the cpu usage of nero goes to %100, then led begins to flash again. That happens till the process ends. However most of the time the process fails and the cd really gets burned(burns out) :D

    The cpu usage is also at %100 on simulations and CD speed tests.

    Since nero doesn't need aspi layer(driver) that's not a driver problem. I fear its about the hardware but i wanted to hear some other ppl.
     
  2. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    To cd-r and cd-rw?
    Try different burning software to see if you encounter the same problems?
    Firmware for burner updated?
    Try different brand cd-r(w) media?
    ASPI Layer 4.6 installed?
    If running WinXP, look for a Windoze update....

    burnatonce:http://www.burnatonce.com/downloads/
    FREE burnin' software

    Shoey :)

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2003
  3. Tholak

    Tholak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The same behavior occurs on both cd-r and cd-rw but cd-rw failure rate is much higher :D

    He tried different types of media. He also used different programs such as CDRtools, Adensoft Audio Data CD burner, Easy CD Creator. It's the same.

    Last ASPI layer installed from adaptec.

    I and he don't have knowledge about how to update firmware or Windoze for Winxp. I'll look for those.
     
  4. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Give me the name brand& model# of the cdrw and I'll give you a brief guide on how to uggrade firmware (if applicable). Right click My Computer>Properties>Hardware (tab folder)>Device Manager (tab folder)>Click the + beside DVD/CD-ROM and you'll see it located there.

    Shoey :)
     
  5. Tholak

    Tholak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well his cd writer is LG GCE 8400B (40x12x40 i suppose)

    However i already sent him an url of the 1.04 version of the writer's firmware.

    I'll reply here if it doesn't do any good.
     
  6. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Seems as if this particular LG DVD Combo drive has a very short life span. I, along with other forum members have replied to many posts to LG GCE 8400B owners. They are having their troubles as well. I know this drive [bold] can't read back written data in RAW DAO mode and the Alcohol 120% team sent them an email confirming this [/bold]. Hopefully the 1.04 firmware update "might" solve his\her problems. Let me know if need the firmware flash tool. My advice, if it's under warranty then send it back and grab a Lite-ON LTR 52/32/52 or 52/24/52x cdrw. DVD-Rom?, Lite-ON LTD 163/165/166. I don't like DVD combo's...

    Shoey :)

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2003
  7. Tholak

    Tholak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well MAX 40X/GCE-8400B is not a combo drive. The firmware of LG drives are executable files they flash without any other programs.

    It would be cool to know if there's a way to switch back the firmware version of LG drives with a flash tool.

    I don't think his drive is under warranty but I'll ask him.

    And thanks for the replies.
     
  8. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Try erasing an RW disc. If you get a power calibration error, the burner can be assumed to be el-toasto. You may also get this error when trying to burn the RW (although it might be a "fixation" error instead)

    *I had an LG48x24x48 over Christmas and went on burning spree (~300 discs).... after that the drive promptly died. lol_X_X_X_X_X_[small]ASUS A7V8X-X, AMD2500+
    Samsung 1024MB, PC2700
    360GB [3x120GB, 7200, 8MB]
    MSI Starforce, GeForce4 Ti4400 128MB

    AFTERDAWN IRC: irc.emule-project.net, #ad_buddies
    COME SAY HI![/small]
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2003
  9. Tholak

    Tholak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Here are some news :D

    He tried that writer on another computer and it worked normal. No strange behavior.

    So it's probably about the WinXP or something installed after 20th of july. He says that he updated winxp on 19th and tried to burn a movie on 20th but failed. He was burning fine before july 19th.

    He tried uninstalling those updates of winxp and didn't change anything.

    He said that he installed Nimo Codec pack to watch the movie The Ring. Then he tried to burn it and failed. I said him to uninstall nimo to see if it makes any difference. Not at all :(

    One more thing. The firmware application is ms-dos based. Does he need a win98 startup disk to run it and how does he do that flash. Here is the application's usage :

    HL-DT-ST CD-RW GCE-8400B F/W Download Program Ver 1.007

    usage 1 : JE4 [FILE_NAME.HEX]
    usage 2 : JE4 [FILE_NAME.HEX] [PORT_NUMBER] /m
    [FILE_NAME.HEX] : ***.HEX
    [PORT_NUMBER] :
    1 - Primary Master
    2 - Primary Slave
    3 - Secondary Master
    4 - Secondary Slave
    /m is Boot mode Option

    How's he going to use that one with hex file ?
     
  10. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Use MTK Win Flash (IDE Mode) to flash the LG. You have the option to create an MS-DOS floppy boot disc and flash.

    MTK WIN Flash:http://digi.rpc1.org/mwf.htm

    The Firmware Page:http://forum.rpc1.org/portal.php
    You should find the "original" firmware for the LG.

    Shoey :)
     
  11. Tholak

    Tholak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Shoey i already got the firmware for GCE 8400B from the site you gave.

    there's a dos based application and a .hex file in that zip.

    is that .hex file the right file to use with the flash tool you mentioned ?
     
  12. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Should be as long as you downloaded the right firmware m8. Try updating the firmware from your desktop.... (MTK Win Flash)

    Shoey :)
     
  13. Tholak

    Tholak Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well. He says its fixed.

    Thanks for the help ppl, especially shoey :D
     

Share This Page