1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stranger Than Fiction and AnyDVD Failure

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by garmoon, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Anyone having a problem with AnyDVD and this Sony Movie with information from several regions? Sony has a new configuration neither Shrink or Recode will open. CloneDVD opens disc. I will try ripit4me later.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2007
  2. Hathcock

    Hathcock Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I used it with DVD Fab and had a few wierd moments where it restarted my PC (WTF?) but third try was a charm, 93 % quality without extras.
     
  3. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ripit4me had no problems, ran thru FixVTS in oneclick mode opened in Shrink. Then I opened VIDEO_TS files in Recode and did Movie only @100%compression. No problems. CloneDVD could have done the movie too since it opened the disc with AnyDVD.
     
  4. b18bek9

    b18bek9 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yea ripit4me worked fine on it....one tihng i noticed on alot of new movies shrink gets errors tryin to even open the dvd's with anydvd running in the back.....
     
  5. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    My DVDFab worked perfectly fine. Then ran through FixVTS and burned with CloneDVD2 I didn't have any of these issues? hmmmmm wierd

    Cheers
     
  6. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hey garmoon
    This ones the same like Saw3, Zoom, Marie Antionette etc that I can tell.

    I almost did a full backup - unchecked what I didn't want in Clone - so I did movie, menu and some special features - over 80%.
    Didn't receive any of the invalid file errors like w/ Saw 3 and an early AnyDVD.

    But I don't think this one will work w/ Shrink and AnyDVD be will do movie only w/ Recode and AnyDVD.
     
  7. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    garmoon ,
    Had no problems using Ripit4Me. Also tried DVDD and AnyDVD and then used VobBlanker and also had no problems
     
  8. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @Car.Mike

    Yea, that's the way I did it. Ripit4me and FixVTS then Recode. I finally got it to open in Recode using AnyDVD but I did not make a copy. It's just not working with Shrink much anymore with $ony movies.
     
  9. migsneeze

    migsneeze Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I used DVDFab Platinum 3.0.8.0 free trial edition, the first 3 times DVDFab couldn't read the disc. Inserted the disc again and it worked perfect. Now I'm using DVDFab Platinum to burn in PSP format so I can watch it on the road.
     
  10. dvdchick

    dvdchick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i used dvdfab and had no trouble...
     
  11. colbz

    colbz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I did the same thing, basically using his advice, ripped with DVDFab, ran through FixVTS, but then i just burned it with shrink and it works great.
    I had no problems.

    Though, my first time I was trying to rip it with AnyDVD, it was not able to read the disc.
     
  12. jaszman

    jaszman Guest

    I didn't download Recode but I have it, so I intuit that it is part of FixVTS. Is that correct? Does anyone know? I never did get the hang of VOB blanker, which appears to perform the same function as FixVTS but Fix has been., well, fixed, to work tinker to evers to chance on those pesky eccros encoded disks. The three programs- ripit4me, fixvts and recode all trigger together once you download the first two, then feed
    automatically into shrink which does a quick analysis automatically afterward, if the user has taken the trouble to have Shrink open when
    Recode Ladrows the completed files!

    Jaszman
     
  13. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Recode is not part of FixVTS.

    VobBlanker is the Big Brother to FixVTS and does essentially the same thing
     
  14. jaszman

    jaszman Guest

    So tell me how I acquired Recode, then? Enquiring minds, don't cha know!

    jaszman
     
  15. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You buy Nero 7 ultra suite. It's included.
     

Share This Page