1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stuck following tutorial

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by yellow13, Nov 13, 2004.

  1. yellow13

    yellow13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm trying to get into this, and I found this tutorial from a link on this site:
    http://www.lookatthemonkeys.com/html/ps2tut.html

    I'm trying to do it, but I need some help. So far I've put in a ps1 game, got the number, ran it through the program, and burnt the image to a cd. I have a codebreaker, but I'm not sure if I can use it to help me with the next part. The tutorial isn't very descriptive and I'm having trouble understanding what to do next. Can someone help?
     
  2. atzero

    atzero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Is your PS2 modded? I think the cd-r you just burnt will install the MC exploit onto your MC (if your PS2 can read cd-r's). Then, when you boot up the PS2 with the PS1 game, you will see the PS2Menu (the boot.elf program).

    Im not sure why, in the guide, he installs the MC exploit before he runs ExecFTP. If you run ExecFTP first (using a cd-r or HDLoader), then you can FTP the boot.elf and title.db files straight over to the BADATA-SYSTEM folder from your PC.

    I suggest using the LaunchELF.elf program as your boot.elf file instead. It can run files from both the MC and the HD. Then you can make a partition (using DMS Format) for your PS2 programs and run them from the HD.
     
  3. yellow13

    yellow13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay, thanks I'll try running ExecFTP before the MC exploit. I'm still a little confused though, since my PS2 is NOT modded, on how to swap the discs. I heard you can use a gameshark...
     
  4. atzero

    atzero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You need someway of running the ExecFTP program on your PS2. Since your PS2 is not modded, you need either a swap disk to run the cd-r you made, or an original HDLoader or HDAdvance disk to run the ExecFTP program from the HD.

    I used the HDLoader method, and put the ExecFTP on the HD using WinHIIP, which involves installing the HD into your PC, and transferring the ExecFTP program onto it directly. But you only have to do this once, because once the ExecFTP program is installed on the HD, all the programs that you will need for the MC exploit can be FTP'd over to your PS2 without having to remove the HD and install it in your PC.

     
  5. yellow13

    yellow13 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay, I understand a bit more, but I'm still not getting all of this. (I don't think).

    Is it as simple as setting the PS2's HDD up on my computer as a slave, then dragging ExecFTP over, and reinstalling the HDD to the PS2? I can handle that, but I'm just not sure if it's that simple.

    Seriously, I'm new to PS2 modding so please don't be frustrated, I'm just trying to understand.
     
  6. atzero

    atzero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats ok, I know this can be confusing at first. I was thinking of making a guide for doing this, now that i have figured it all out, but i havent gotten around to it.

    Do you have HDLoader? This thread has some good info on transferring ExecFTP onto the PS2 HD so that you can run it on your PS2 with HDLoader:

    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/114747

    If you dont have, cant find, or cant borrow an HDLoader disk, then you will have to run ExecFTP using a swap method, which i dont know a lot about.
     
  7. pandaxx

    pandaxx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i just dont get the part when he says to log onto your router, i type in the gateway adress in my browser but nothing happens. this seems like the most confusing part to me.
     
  8. atzero

    atzero Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you dont log into the router. I use a router, and i log straight into the PS2's ip address (mine is 192.168.0.10, which is probably yours too, being the default set by the PS2 network adapter setup disk)

    Of course, you need to have execFTP .elf file running on the PS2 when you log on with your PC...
     

Share This Page