1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subtitles Being Cutoff At Bottom Of Screen

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by tence, Feb 18, 2005.

  1. tence

    tence Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Everytime I try to make a DVD of a show I'm backing up for a friend I can't help but get the subtitles at the bottom cut off. I've tried using Roxio Easy CD/DVD Creator and Nero 6. Am I doing something wrong or is it I'm using the programs ?
     
  2. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    so subs are wanted? or not?

    what proceess are you doing? dvd to dvd?
     
  3. tence

    tence Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The audio is japanese and I don't speak it fluently enough so subs are needed. I'm doing avi to dvd.
     
  4. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    did you try nero vision express?

    or drop in tmpgenc plus to get mpeg2 then drop in tmpgenc dvd author to get vobs.ifo.bup

    but! not sure if both those will take out subtitles?

    may need to start a thread DO AVI's LOOSE SUBS ON CONVERSION?
     
  5. Excel2005

    Excel2005 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If the video has hardcoded subtitles (assuming that you are encoding it with an MPEG encoder for DVD), you will need to add letterboxing to the sides of the video to prevent them from flowing over the boundaries of the screen. FitCD will help you do this (it is located at http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_tools/fitcd.cfm ) for VCDs and SVCDs. For DVDs, you should find a copy of Fit2Disc. You will need to install the latest version of AviSynth at http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=57023 and extract http://www.dvdrhelp.com/readavs-vdr.zip to your encoder's root directory before using either program. Open the created AviSynth script in your encoding program to fix your problem.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2005
  6. tence

    tence Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay, I'll try to get Fit2Disk.
     
  7. Balaam

    Balaam Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is there a way to fix this problem when just burning some .avi's to a dvd to play in a divx compatable dvd player? I assume hardsubed is when the subs are a part of the avi itself, and not a seperate file, in which case the files I'm talking about are hardsubed.
     
  8. Martin-N

    Martin-N Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How do I figure out the root directory of my encoders?
     
  9. tence

    tence Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    "How do I figure out the root directory of my encoders?"

    If you are having the smae problem as me I used VirtualDubMod to correct the problem. Just add letterbox to the file and use the DiVx codec to keep the file down to near its orginal size with almost the same quality.
     
  10. Martin-N

    Martin-N Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thank you sooooo much. You don't even know how much this helps me, I will try virtiuldub atlast me anime dvd's will be viewed correctly
     
  11. Martin-N

    Martin-N Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry to ask simple questions, but how do you add letterbox in VirtualDubMod? thanks for all the help.
     

Share This Page