1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Super Frustrated about freezing

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by yanks23, Feb 22, 2005.

1. yanks23

yanks23 Member

I'm a newbie and I'm having trouble. I use DVD Shrink, I have Nero, and I'm using HP +R's as my blank disks. I have tried encoding and burning two different ways and both generate the same problem.

1. I make an ISO image and then burn copy using Nero.
    2. I make a backup in my Video file and then make a DVD-video using Nero.

I'm using an external DVD drive (Sony DRX 710UL) and I have purchased a PC MCIA card to upgrade my USB port to 2.0 on my laptop.

They both produce freezing of frames within the first 3 minutes of the movie. Then, the rest of the movie seems fine. I'm getting super frustrated spending hours doing this stuff only to have the first part of the movie screwed up.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!

2. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

Get some good media. I don't know which hp's you got,but it sounds like a quality defect on the inner edge of discs.

Try burning at 2.4x.

3. yanks23

yanks23 Member

Thanks a bunch. I'll give it a try.

4. yanks23

yanks23 Member

I'm told on another forum that Taiyo Yudens are the best. Do you agree, Saugmon?

5. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

I would agree but,A lot has to do with what your burner likes.I've heard mostly a lot of good things on them,but few bad things.Firmware updates are the usually required.
    My main pc,I have the benq 1620-I have yet to find a bad brand of media. I just got some sony +1-8x's that were made by ty. Ty also makes some fuji and maxell's.
    I just got 350 of those sony's made by ty and they are working great,just like my ricohjpn,mxlrg02,mxlrg-03,mcc-002,and mcc-003. All these are very good media.