1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Surround Sound Speaker Problem

Discussion in 'Home Theater PC' started by lafeet, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. lafeet

    lafeet Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi, im having trouble with my Regent Home Theater System Surround Sound speakers Model HT-391. The problem is, i am trying to hook it to my computer, but when i do, it makes this long background noise like (buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz) and when i play music, it doesnt come out straight. Also, the subwolfers doesnt work when i pluged it in my computer. Now, when i plug it in to my Ipod, everything works fine. Do i need some sort of sound card or software?
     
  2. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    have u changed speaker configuration from 2 to 5-1, i had problems with my sound card and changed up to a more expensive and the quality and sound is superb now.
    i dont know if a home system is compatible with pc!
     
  3. lafeet

    lafeet Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how do i change from 2 to 5? and i think it is possible to be done because i saw someone did it before.
     
  4. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    go into control panel,click sounds and devices,advanced settings brings up configuration then select 5-1 to see what setup u have
     
  5. lafeet

    lafeet Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i changed it to 5.1, but there is still the background buzzzing noise and the subwolfer is still not working annndd, the sound still does not come out right.
     
  6. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    do u have a digital sound card in pc?,and are ur connections correct.
     
  7. lafeet

    lafeet Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thats why i asked if i needed a specific sound card that i am required to buy. Im trying to plug it in through the sound card that came with the PC (Realtek AC97')
     
  8. cactikid

    cactikid Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,616
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    68
    ur connections might be different check out this link on setup.
    www.lennoxx.com/manuals
    i did a google search under home theater system ht-391
     
  9. lafeet

    lafeet Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    link is dead.
     
  10. ugc

    ugc Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if your connecting the computer to stereo with the 2 channel RCA plugs you need to install a floating ground filter: check here:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/305180

    if you are using 5.1 SPDIF/TosLink as your connection, you need to set the output of your computer correctly and you should be good.
     
  11. lafeet

    lafeet Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yea thats the wire im using, is that a software to install or an item that i have to purchase, and what does it look like if it is an item?
     

Share This Page