1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

suse 10.1 help

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by Griffins, Mar 22, 2007.

1. Griffins

Griffins Member

hello, I am new to linux and after weeks of debating which one(distro)to try I finally found suse 10.1 and partitioned about 10 Gig of my hd and everything went well. so i am now running 2 os, the problem comes when I tried to go online with linux for some reason can't connect online with firefox I tried messing around with it and seaching on the web with no luck, obviously I am doing someting wrong should I reinstall it? any help will be very much appreciated

2. The_Fiend

The_Fiend Guest

Well, first off, you need to get OpenSuSE 10.2 as it fixes some very critical errors, and secondly you might need additional drivers for your network card to work, especially if it's a wireless card, so you'd need to download and compile/install Ndiswrapper.

3. Griffins

Griffins Member

thanks, but I just got that disc off e-bay not too long ago, is there another quicker way to get that upgrade? I am not using a wireless connection so do I still need a to update anything else to get the internet connection to work. really that's what i am after thank you for you help

4. The_Fiend

The_Fiend Guest

You PAYED for free software ? you're kidding me, right ?
    As for needing the updated version, unless you don't mind being a sitting duck, then you REALLY NEED to get the update.
    If you want to get OpenSuSE for free, like you should, then just google it's name.
    Same goes for NdisWrapper.

5. janrocks

janrocks Guest

I can't even get suse 10.1 to boot properly.. It's broken as I found back at the weekend.