1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

swap magic 3.3 and my ps2

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by matchbox_, Jan 17, 2005.

  1. matchbox_

    matchbox_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi im having problems.

    Im using SM 3.3 and slide card with a PAL ps2.

    I downloaded a game and burn it to a dvd-r and my ps2 says it was not a valid disc. ive tried with different types of dvd-r and still get the same problem. I just thoguth i couldnt get it to work, so i left it.

    But i ordered a retail copy of MGS3 and got it this morning, tried booting and my ps2 says this is not a valid disc.

    What can/do i do?

    Cheers in advance
     
  2. matchbox_

    matchbox_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    btw both games im a trying to load are NTSC.
     
  3. FUTRIACO

    FUTRIACO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Did you try special boot?

    I cant get my Swap Magic to work either but just try it if not already done so.
     
  4. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    i dont use swapmagic,so my knowledge is limited,but why are you trying to load a ntsc game on a pal ps2?
    surely you need a converter? i know some modchips solve this problem,but as for swapmagic?i am not so sure.
    have you tried burning a pal game?
    you know.........to see if it works?
     
  5. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    what do you mean by special boot?
     
  6. A.Beast

    A.Beast Guest

    I use SM3.3, I'm pretty sure it allows you to play imports (although I haven't tried), and FUTRIACO may be on the right track with the special boot (a feature of SM3.3 not sure what it does), but I don't know why your retail MGS3 isn't working, is it PAL or NTSC??

    Let us know what you find.

    *EDIT

    I just got this after doing a search for the special boot:

    judging by this it looks like you can play imports, just alter the region selector.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 17, 2005
  7. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    is this a feature built into the swapmagic disc?or is it a add on?
    i presume its built in,with it being the new version.
     
  8. yudda111

    yudda111 Guest

    what version is your ps2 if its the slim ps2 then you need to do the tape mod or get the slim tools.
     
  9. matchbox_

    matchbox_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i think i have a v4 or 5

    im really angry. i wanted to play MGS3 on my PAL ps2 and i thought swap magic would work, but it doesnt allow me to play imports.

    Any ideas what i can do to play this game?
     
  10. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    my ps2 is PAL and i have MGS3 that works,but having said that i dont use swapmagic,so whether the copy is PAL/NTSC i cannot tell you.
    did you not read the above posts?someone has suggested you can change the region with SM3.3
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2005
  11. matchbox_

    matchbox_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you change the video mode. so it has 3 options, Normal, NTSC, and PAL, and the NTSC one does not work. still says my game is not a ps2 disc.
     
  12. matchbox_

    matchbox_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    just sorted it. i didnt use the slide toll properly. i am so stupid.

    cheers for everyones help!
     

Share This Page