1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

swap magic 3.3 opinions/comments

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by andyfrank, Dec 18, 2004.

  1. andyfrank

    andyfrank Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    alot of people have said they have problems with the new swap magic 3.3, i want to know like if this is just becuz of they n00bness or is it becuz the new disks really actully dont work, i do take care of my v5/6 ps2, everything is working correctly, laser is cleaned regulaarly and it is adjusted correctly. im scared bcasue i bout my SM 3.3 from www.mod-chip.com, and i havent gotten them, i got the email that they had been shipped on monday (12-13-04) and i havent gotten them yet and it is saturday (12-18-04)...ahhhh
     
  2. zerosouls

    zerosouls Guest

    mose likely there noobieness mine work perfectly i bout from modchip.ca great site got them in 3 days but my friend orderd from your site and it took 2 weeks kinda sucked for him oh well anyways both of my SMD's work fine
     
  3. andyfrank

    andyfrank Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    alright...the fact im worried is becuz i bout Sm discs for 4 other people so ill be raped if they dont get here idc if it takes 2 weks just as long as i get them, yea im sure ill be able to load them up all right. i didnt order from modchip.ca cuz they was in canada and i didnt know if they shipped to usa but i live in MI so it woulda been fast =/ o well

    more commaents appreciated!!!! BUMP!!!
     
  4. Jeff11103

    Jeff11103 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I bought from SM 3.3 from modchip.com as well. They suck. First they never sent me a confirmation email. Second it took 3 emails to get a responce from them. Third it took 2 and a half weeks to get my order. Forth they sent me a broken no solder modchip. Fifth they won't respond to my emails about the broken modchip.

    The good news for you is that I was able to use the SM 3.3 disks to play backups by taking off the top lid and the top cover of the dvd drive and swapping disks that way.

    So when you finally get your SM disks I'm sure they'll work just fine.
     
  5. andyfrank

    andyfrank Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    damn.....=(
     
  6. rashad1

    rashad1 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My swap magic 3.3 works.
     
  7. yudda111

    yudda111 Guest

    i got mine at consolesource.com and everything works,got it 2days after i ordered,really good site
     
  8. cuteperv

    cuteperv Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    My swap magic 3.3 never read the first time, usually i have to put it in the tray and reset 2 or 3 times b4 the ps2 can read it.
    And every it reads, it spins like crazy, i feel like the tray will b broken.
     
  9. andyfrank

    andyfrank Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im pretty sure it came today...i didnt open the package yet but it was samll and lightweight and it was from austria and these thingsd are imported so i hope it is it...
     
  10. gersson

    gersson Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    How does the CD version work on a v9 Ps2?
    I have 3.2 and the CD doesn't work. DVD works great, though.
     
  11. grantman

    grantman Guest

    Hey i just ordered swap magic 3.2 from www.clearxbox.com and when it got ot my house, along with the fliptop i ordered,they sent me 3.3, it works perfectly and the total with the flip top and the 3.3 discs it was only $30 plus $7.25 shipping, great site Dont Be ripped of anywere else, BEST PRICES IN THE WORLD

    WWW.CLEARXBOX.COM
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 24, 2004
  12. JoshBosh

    JoshBosh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My DVD one works, but the CD version refuses to work.
     
  13. andyfrank

    andyfrank Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hey my stuff works now, u still need cdloader and junk but u need to use version 7+ cd loader and dvd loader for it to work for those certain games but mines cool and all but linker4u has it at a great price of 20 bucks i think so yea
     
  14. Jeff11103

    Jeff11103 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Update...modchip.com sent me another no solder modchip. I intstalled it and it works. They even sent the new one by express mail.

    Hey Andyfrank, are you sure you need to use cdloader? I have been able to play backups of Star Wars: Battlefront, Ratchet & Clank: Up Your Arsenal, and Lord of the Rings: Return of the King without the fix from swapmagic.com. But I haven't tried playing online.

    I have a V4 PS2.
     
  15. meggo

    meggo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i just got swap magic 3.3. but i cant figure it out. i load up the boot disc and when i put the backup in it says invalid ps2 game. i burned at 1x and i have used dvd+r and dvd-r. i use ridata dvds. What am i doing wrong.
    thanks
     
  16. Jeff11103

    Jeff11103 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How are you swapping disks? Are you making backups with DVD Decryptor?
     
  17. meggo

    meggo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i am using flip top to swap discs and i am using dvd decrypter.
     
  18. Jeff11103

    Jeff11103 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try using different dvd-r media (something good). I would stick to -r as opposed to +r because some PS2s don't read +r. I am no expert on media so I suggest you go to the DVD media forum and read what other people recommend.

    If you have a friend who can back up and play his games, try playing one of his backups. Also have him try one of your backups on his PS2.
     
  19. meggo

    meggo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i finally got one to work. i ripped it with dvd decrypter and burned it with nero. ratchet and clank was the game. i just tried metal gear solid using the same exact technique and it said invalid ps2 game. Could it be my dvd's. i use ridata dvd-r's. i heard they were good but know i do not know.
     
  20. Jeff11103

    Jeff11103 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It definately could be the dvds you are using. I have never tried that brand before and as I mentioned earlier I am no media expert.

    I know some burners can get away with using poorer quality media. So your problem could be dvd media/dvd burner related.

    When you are burning, are you using your computer at all? Do you have your screen saver and the power saving settings turned off? You should also have all other unnessesary programs running in the background turned off like your anti-virus program, windows messenger, and any spyware program. Also make sure none of those programs are set to automaticly check for updates.
     

Share This Page