1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swap Magic 3.3 w/ no solder chip.....Help!!!!!!

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Jeff11103, Dec 14, 2004.

  1. Jeff11103

    Jeff11103 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I recently purchased a no solder mod chip for my V4
    PS2 console with the Swap Magic 3.3 disks.

    I am having trouble with the Swap Magic disk.

    I am trying to play a backup of my Van Helsing game on
    dvd-r media. First I boot up the Swap Magic DVD disk.
    Then I hold the eject button down until the light
    changes from green to orange. At that time the CD
    tray opens (faster than ever before). I put in my
    backup of Van Helsing and I wait. The CD tray never
    closes after 5-10 seconds like it's supposed to.

    So then I press the eject button to insert the backup.
    The screen changes and reads "Refresh TOC". What
    does this mean?

    My PS2 can still read original PS2 games and can play
    backups of movies. The media I used for the movies
    I've backed up is the same as the backup of Van
    Helsing.

    Am I using the Swap Magic disk incorrectly or do you
    think I may have damaged my PS2 when installing the
    mod chip?

    Please Help.
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    either you installed the chip wrong, or its defective, you should have gotten a fliptop.
     
  3. Jeff11103

    Jeff11103 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do you think the mod chip may not be seated properly? Because initially I had a hard time inserting the mod chip. It just would not stay in place. Then I noticed that the place where I was trying to insert the chip has some kind of latch to hold it in place. Once I closed the latch, the chip seemed resonably secure, but not 100%.

    What do you think?
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i don't know, ive never used it. But i do know that the tray needs to go in by itself.
     
  5. Jeff11103

    Jeff11103 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for your help. I'm going to try reseating the chip. Hopefully that will do the trick. If not I'll try getting the place I bought the chip to send me a new one.

    I still have another PS2 (my nephew's) I want to get to play backups. Is there a particular flip top that is of better quality out there?
     
  6. tommyl

    tommyl Guest

    hello i had a ps2 that did the same thing just remove the cover off of you ps2 and then remove the cover to the disc drive then put it back on but leave the screws out boot swap magic after it says insert disc remove disc tray cover lift disc out and put backup in put cover back on and press x should boot fine and cheaper than a flip top and just as easy
     
  7. Jeff11103

    Jeff11103 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks, I'll try that just because I want to see if the backups I'm making work, but I don't see that as a long term solutuion. I would still like to use the chip I have (or one that works) for the sake of ease of use.

    Thanks again, I will give that a try.
     
  8. Jeff11103

    Jeff11103 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks again tommyl!!!

    I did exactly what you said to do. Now I can play my backups.

    I would still like to get a top of the line flip top cover. Can anyone tell me where to go?
     
  9. Mik3h

    Mik3h Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Depends Where You Live.

    If you Live in The UK, the Best Place To Go - http://www.memtechsolutionsltd.co.uk/product_info.php/products_id/551

    It's only £31.98 for the Flip Lid. Although I do not recommend you open up your PS2. So I went with The Slide Tool With Swap Magic 3. Only £22.98 inc. VAT + Free Delivery.
    I ordered it yesterday so I'm still waiting on it arriving. (2-5 days) If you don't live in the UK. Then go to http://www.ps2fliptop.net/index.htm


    If None of these sites suit you. Then Go to http://www.swapmagic3.com/swap_magic_buy.html
    This will show where to buy Flip Tops' and Slide Tools.
     

Share This Page