1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swap Magic 3.3 worked, now it doesn't.

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by TomMelee, Dec 14, 2004.

  1. TomMelee

    TomMelee Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi folks, I'll keep it brief.

    I just got my swap magic 3.3 discs and my flip top last night, played it for several hours w/ no issues, both on Call of Duty-Finest Hour, and on GTA: San Andreas.

    Today, I put in GTA and decided to try the "special boot" function, just to see what it was.

    Apparently that was a bad idea. It just sat there for 5 mins before it gave up, and now it won't read *either* swap magic disc, but it'll still play original games.

    I tried adjusting the cogwheel, turned it ccw until the thinger popped down, and then it wouldn't read anything at all, not even originals---had a heck of a time getting it back to the original state. As it is right now, it'll play originals but will not read either swap magic disc, says "disc read error" or "please insert a valid ps2 disc"...

    Oh and I have a v7 ps2.

    Thanks...
    ~Tom
     
  2. zerosouls

    zerosouls Guest

    i just got mine yesturday i was also wandering what that super load or whatever thing was guess iwont be trying that now
     
  3. TomMelee

    TomMelee Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Anyone have any suggestions? At this point any help would be appreciated...


    ~Tom
     
  4. ciderv2

    ciderv2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  5. TomMelee

    TomMelee Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If it is...I can't find it, I just read every word on the site...


    ~Tom
     
  6. Gazcoigne

    Gazcoigne Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the special boot is for home brew games and development dvd's. It scrambles the memory if you boot a normal game.

    unplug it from the mains and leave it for a say and try it after that so the ram empties.

    If that hasnt worked i would try to contact swapmagic and ask them.
     
  7. TomMelee

    TomMelee Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ahh....interesting.

    I shall try this and report back, thanks for the heads up. My package in the mail consisted of the flip top, the discs, and the shipping manifest...nothing more, lol.



    ~Tom
     
  8. TomMelee

    TomMelee Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I left it unplugged for more like 50 hours...and no joy.

    Anybody else out there with any suggestions? Please?


    ~Tom
     
  9. ciderv2

    ciderv2 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    have you tried contacting the swap magic people?
     
  10. Blade_IV

    Blade_IV Guest

    Sounds like what you did was scramble the PS2s Memory almost permanently what I suggest you do b4 contacting Swap magic is try a clean boot of swap magic if you were using the DVD try using the Cd and Vice Versa
    pres and hold the power button for three seconds for the Ps2 to power down which would more likely empty memory than a cable power down then boot up with and try again try at least three times. IF THAT DOESNT WORK
    CONTACT SWAP MAGIC.
     
  11. TomMelee

    TomMelee Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    oops, forgot to update this thread after I fixed it.

    I needed to adjust my cogwheel, that was all. 7 clicks counterclockwise and problem solved. I think it actually loads original games faster now too...

    ~Tom
     

Share This Page