1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swap magic 3.8 screen off center + wide on normal tv

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by Serp86, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. Serp86

    Serp86 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi

    Just got swap magic 3.8 for the ps2 v12 i am having some wierd video issues.

    The ps2 is pal, the coder set is pal and the discs are pal too.

    Ok, so selecting normal video mode will boot the game, but display it in black and white - as if it were ntsc. Otherwise everything works fine for all games, even movies (see below).

    Then I tried to correct this by selecting pal mode, right? Wrong. Selecting pal makes the screen go offcenter (bottom 25% not show) and in widescreen mode. Also, the audio in the fmv's will start to skip like crazy.

    I tried this with other games, and even tried the cd version with the exact same results. Dont know what is happening. Also, the copy of breaker pro i recieved with them doesn't boot - it says invalid disc.

    Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2007
  2. Serp86

    Serp86 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    oh, and the ps2 is set to 4:3

    this only happens with swap magic and original games display fine on the tv
     
  3. croy00

    croy00 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hmmm... this is a new one. Some of the side affects you are naming suggests wrong region code but if it was not correctly displaying pal region I believe the screen would also shake as described by another swap magic user. This sounds stupid because you probably already know but just check your ps2 sticker to make sure of the region and the back of the swap magic disk for the region code. My supplier accidently mailed me a pal version for my ntsc before. Also if your originals are playing fine try them with swap magic first it could be that your backup copies are ntsc and not pal as well. If that's the case you can convert them. Probably didn't help but it's a start.
     
  4. Serp86

    Serp86 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmm just tried playing an original through swap magic (minight club 3 PAL) and it was fine.

    The discs do say pal and the swap magic cd's label shows as crazy taxi when inserted in the computer's cd rom. dvd version label is blank.

    I read on a site that getting an rgb cable usually solves these issues. Is it true?
     
  5. croy00

    croy00 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I too have heard of this fixing the problem but the person told me they just bought the monster cables for the system. They are regular component cables but gold plated. Don't buy them unless your sure because I am not 100% possitive this will fix the problem we need someone else in here to confirm this. Now I would like to know.
     
  6. Serp86

    Serp86 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I fixed it in the end by buying an rgb cable for $7

    Not only the colors look great now, but originals are also sharper than composite output. Hope this helps other users having the same issues.
     
  7. JoschMH

    JoschMH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    AH... I know I'm like a month late. ANYWAY... I've got a similar problem. I was just curious about the RGB cable.

    See... I moved from Australia to the UK so it's still PAL, the game is still Japanese NTSC (King of Colosseum 2) and the Swap Magic is the same Swap Magic (3.6 PAL).

    It worked FINE in Australia. No problem AT ALL. I just ran it on video mode NORMAL. Now I get 2 England... and like the other dude said, for normal it's black and white so I tried PAL but then 1/4 to 1/3 of the screen is black... the picture is like condensed or something?

    I've tried looking RGB up and couldn't find anything useful. Anyway... I've tried the old yellow/red/white connection that I used in Australia and that doesn't work, I bought a SCART lead and that doesn't work and an old PSX connection thing.

    I was wondering how you connect the RGB to the TV and if anyone could give me any info on it? Maybe there's another solution, maybe I need an English PS2? ANYONE! LOL

    I did ask a man at a shop and he was like 'No it can't be the RGB, that's for a high definition console blah blah blah...' so yeah...

    Please add me on MSN if you've got it - JoschMH@hotmail.com or reply directly here... I am on a lot.

    THANK YOU! PEACE X
     
  8. Serp86

    Serp86 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well, my problem was that my games were ntsc and the ps2 and the coder were pal. I didnt realize the games were ntsc at first thats why there was some confusion.

    Anyway it appears that my situation and yours are exactly the same. An rgb cable is the one that goes direct to scart. The one I bought is just like this one:



    Mine also has a little switch as shown here that can switch between video modes. If yours doesn't have it than maybe thats the problem, since if i turn it on game it works with color and if i turn it on dvd it is black and white (reverse applies when watching dvd - if game is selected it has a green tint and if dvd is selected it is normal). Cannot tell you for sure though since i dont know how the wiring works.
     

Share This Page