1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swap Magic and Software Questions

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by ChiPhiZD, Feb 13, 2005.

  1. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So I installed the replacement fliptop so I can back up my PS2 games for my little rugrats, and I thought I was going to be in business...boy was I wrong...So I just bought Hot Shots Golf Fore and wanted to back it up and hide the original and well it does not work, being the nice fella that I am I did a little MORE research and came up with some info about DNAS and stuff like that. So once again I have a few questions for you guys on this forum. And hopefully when I backup my first PS2 game, I can actually help boneheads like me in the future.

    1.)I have the Swap Magic 3.3 and I had a few questions about the Video Mode when I load up the program.

    What is the difference between:
    Normal:
    PAL: <-----all 3 are greek to me
    NTSC:

    If the PS2 game I am trying to back up has DNAS I guess I have to bring out a few more big guns and a few more programs.

    Disc ID Utility?
    Can I use this image when I want to retrieve the information for DVD games or just CD games, and obviously if not what can I use for DVD games.

    Can't find these programs anywhere
    Image Patcher
    Disc ID Inserter
    IsoBuster
    WinImage

    Not sure if what I am doing is making this way harder then what it needs to be but if anyone has these programs (or if they are even required) and if its legal to share, please PM me so I can give you my email or whatever to forward them to me.

    PS> I am working on a DIY (with pictures)for the instalation for the replacement fliptop on a Slim PS2, because when I was looking for one, I could not find one...just have to upload the pics to a server and all should be well.
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    1. hot shots was a bad first game to try (i don't know if you can even play it with swap magic).
    2. You only have to worry about dnas stuff if you intend on playing your backup online.
     
  3. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok then how about a game like Madden 2k5...and still searching for what that other software i stated about above actually does
     
  4. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ...oh ya and that one i intend to play online with
     
  5. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  6. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  7. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am still so completly lost with this backing up of PS2 games, and unfortunately all the games I have have DNAS on them. Here is what I have done so far.

    I installed the replacement flip top.

    I have Alcohol, Nero, DVDecrypter

    When I use the decrypter to read and write the ISO image, and use the swap disk, it still says "Not A Valid PS2 Disk"

    Anyone help, Thanks in advance!
     
  8. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    does the swap disc load? how are you trying to load the backup?
     
  9. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When i put in the swap disk, the program loads up, then when i put the backup in and i hear it start to load up, it says not a vaild ps2 disc...i put the original in and boot it and it works fine
     
  10. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Is hot shots the only game you have tried (as i mentioned earlier, thats not a good one to start with)? Also what brand media are you using?
     
  11. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well the three games that i have now are:

    Hot Shots Fore
    Need For Speed Underground 2
    Madden 2k5
     
  12. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    what brand media are you using? here are install pics for the lid (if thats what your using), http://ps2lid.com/
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2005
  13. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ritek g04 DVD+r
     
  14. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ok, im thinking you didn't install the lid correctly, or your not using it correctly.
     
  15. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am pretty sure that I did, i can open the flip without having the ps2 think the eject is open...i have the slim ps2 so the install was a piece of cake...it really boggles me as well
     
  16. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does it matter that i HAVE a PSTwo and not PS2?
     
  17. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    since its saying not a valid ps2 disc, Im thinking the ps2 knows you opened it. Since it sounds like your burning the games right and using good media.
     
  18. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    if i am even in the middle of playing an original game, i can open the flip and the game will still spin, play and load
     
  19. ChiPhiZD

    ChiPhiZD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I also noticed, and maybe this could be why...when i use dvdecrypter in ISO mode, i extract 2 files on to my HDD....but i think it only writes one to the blank dvd
     
  20. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    you can either burn the .iso or the .mds (in some cases you can only burn the .mds). It doesn't really matter which one you burn. You have a good point about opening the top while a game is playing. Have you tried hitting square to load the game insead of x (after you load the swap magic dvd)?
     

Share This Page