1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

swap magic problems

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by jiveturky, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. jiveturky

    jiveturky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Strangely, even though I got my flip top 3 days after I ordered it, the swap magic disks took 2 weeks to get here.....

    I have smd 3.3 disks, and they will not load anything.
    I get a screen with the option to load program, and here is where I swap my disk (I tried ape escape and killzone) and press x. The screen would either go black, or take a long time before the swap magic screen told me not a valid ps2 disk.

    When I first tried it, I was using Ridata (Ritek) 8x disks, which I found out to be not so good for the PS2 from these forums.

    I then went out and bought 1-4x verbatim disks, but the problem persists.

    I am using DVD Decrypter to read and write these disks.

    I've tried both the dvd and cd versions of swap magic, but I noticed that the dvd one has a rough spot on the edge of it's surface, and I am wondering if it is possible that this or anything else could cause the swap magic disk to load but not function in loading backups properly.

    Thanks for the help.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2004
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i don't have 3.3, so this is just a thought. at the load program screen, try selecting it without swapping for the backup. If it then goes to the insert disc screen, swap there.
     
  3. jiveturky

    jiveturky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    it never says anything about inserting a disk, and pressing load program first makes the screen disappear and then reappear, with the outline of part of the background turning red for a split second. before it comes back.
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    ok, i was just checking. what game is it?
     
  5. MikE42o

    MikE42o Guest

    Where did you buy your swap disks?
    modchip.ca or w/e u should try to contack them or others who bought from the same place and see who has the same problem.
     
  6. jiveturky

    jiveturky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've tried ape escape and killzone so far.
    Actually, I might have tried sly cooper 2 also, but I'm not sure. I just remember throwing disks around.....

    I bought the disks from customps2.com
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2004
  7. jiveturky

    jiveturky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so really what I'm wondering if it's possible that my swap magic disks are f%$#ed; if it is possible that they could boot to their load screen but not function properly in loading backed up games.

    The reason I wonder this is because of a rough spot on the side edge of the disk, as well as an irregularity on the pattern of the back.

    Wondering if I should exchange them, because it seems to me that it would be possible for it to load to screen but not load a game- just like a game might load to title but not play.
     

Share This Page