1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swap Magic takes me to Browser 90% of the Time

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by Xayro, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. Xayro

    Xayro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have Swap Magic 3.6 , and my DVD boot disc doesn't always work 90% of the time, I have to turn the PS2 on/off up 30 times (maximum, usually about 10-15) and keep putting it in (can take up to 25 minutes), until it finally takes me to the Swap magic screen. I have cleaned my laser before as well.

    It does one of these three things

    10% of the Time: The DVD disc successfully loads and boots a game.
    15% of the time: The DVD disc will load past the PlayStation 2 logo, then stop spinning, and go to the browser screen.
    75% of the time: The DVD disc will just go straight to the browser screen.

    It is really frustrating, and I have kicked my PS2 across the room because of it, :p. Is there a solution to this? Is there a certain way you have to set the Swap Magic disc in the CD tray? Like a certain direction?

    Also, I have a Fat PS2 with a Fliptop mod.

    Please help,
    Xayro
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Try cleaning your laser. Eventually, your ps2 laser gets too weak to read the swap magic disc (happened on my v4 ps2).
     
  3. Xayro

    Xayro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I cleaned it again, and it worked first try. Might of been a fluke, but I don't wanna test it right now. I got a game running, and thats a rarity.
     
  4. Stormon

    Stormon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    If it stops working again, the CD version of Swap magic seems to be alot more reliable, it can play DVD's if you follow these steps:

    Put in the Swap magic CD and wait for it to get the load program screen, eject it (not swap) and put in a game with a high TOC (I use FFXII), then wait for the TOC to refresh and when it says you can swap, you swap it in for a backup dvd and it will work.
     
  5. Xayro

    Xayro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't really want to play back-ups, but imports. And the method you showed me did not work to play PS2 imports, and my DVD disc is back to what it was doing.

    The CD method you listed isn't working. It just says "Please insert a PS2/PS1 Disc".

    So, I'm pretty much screwed on this aspect, unless you all have another trick up your sleeve.
     
  6. Xayro

    Xayro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Also, is there like another kinda of disc like Swap Magic that doesn't suck so bad?
     

Share This Page