1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swap Magic v3.3 (not v2.0!!) Instructions?

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Wallyman, Feb 8, 2005.

1. Wallyman

Wallyman Member

Noob here - Just bought SM3.3 with the slide tool, and after much swearing figured out how to use the tool.. You'd think the printing would be on the TOP side of it, but whatever. Now, I'm trying to boot a copy (my first, of course) of TOCA2.. Problem is all the SM instructions I can find are for v2.0 I think, and reference a "Insert Disc" screen. SM3.3 doesn't have one!

Is there a "Idiots Guide to Using SM3.3" out there, similar to this one for (presumed) 2.0?

http://www.ps2cover.com/swaphelp.html

I've already figured out I am using crap DVD-R, and have some good stuff on order.. other than that, I'm clueless as to how to get this thing to work. My assumptions is it goes like this:

1. Insert SM3.3 DVD
    2. Reset PS2
    3. Wait for "Load/Video Type screen"
    4. Use slide tool, remove SM3.3
    5. Insert DVD-R/PAL import
    6. Close with slide tool
    7. Hit X or Square as needed
    8. Play game

I did all that with my crap copy, and it just goes black and stays that way.. no colors, no nothin'. I reburnt this morning on same crap media at a forced 1x, will try tonight but not very hopeful. Don't focus on my copying skills, I should be fine (using DVD Decrypter) there, it's using SM3.3 that is killing me. AFAIK, I've got a V7 or V9 (I forget) PS2, so the DVD-R shouldn't be an issue either.

Thoughts/Help/Questions welcome!

Thanks!
    Wallyman

2. faustx

faustx Member

3. Wallyman

Wallyman Member

faustx - Those must be pre-3.3, look at number 1 under "Magic Slide Instructions". It says "Wait for screen to say Insert Disc", and 3.3 doesn't seem to have that. The only screen I get has two options, Load Program and Video type select.