1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Swap Magic with SCPH-90000 PS2

Discussion in 'PS2' started by Bootaaay, Jan 17, 2009.

  1. Bootaaay

    Bootaaay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey there, I recently got a Japanese slim PS2 and wanted to use Swap Magic with it - I bought Swap Magic 3.6 & Magic Switch Pro 4. Can anyone tell me which combination of tools I need to use? Or if it even works with my model PS2?

    The model number is SCPH-90000 and theres a small 'a' next to the number.

    I saw a post on here that claimed to have got Swap Magic working on a 90000 model Ps2 using just Tool A (which covers the sensor), but whenever I try it the disc won't even attempt to read.

    I then tried Tool A with Tool B (the one that stops the disc break) and while it at least attempted to read the disc it still came up 'Insert a PS2 format disc'.

    Tool C won't work with my model PS2 (because the hole it's supposed to go in is covered up) so I used Tool E instead, but although i've tried installing it a number of times I still can't get it to work. I even tried opening up the console and using Tool D, but theres no where for it to go on my model.

    Also, I haven't got a clue where Tool F is supposed to go, can anyone help? Or is there some guide out there for installing the Magic Switch Pro 4 set on a SCPH-90000 model PS2?

    Cheers,

    Bootaaay
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I don't know that Swap Magic will work on you region of the latest PS2.
    You should only need to block the one sensor with Tool A
    If installed correctly, the disk will still spin with the lid open.

    There is no sensor inside on these latest models. It is not needed.

    Tool F is not for your model, it is for model SCPH-7xxxx series.

    What is the Date Code on your PS2, you should find it on the bottom of your PS2.

    I know for using fmcb 1.8 with ESR, it will only work on these models that have a Date Code 8b, and some 8c. But anything after Sony changed the Bios version, so they will not work
     
  4. Bootaaay

    Bootaaay Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I can't see a date code on the bottom anywhere, theres just the Model Number, serial number, region info, a square with a smaller square inside of it, a circle with "PSE" written in it, some legal mumbo jumbo and the bardcode. The model number has a very small letter 'a' after it, is that the date code?

    Cheers for your help,

    Bootaaay
     
  5. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Here is a google image of where the Date code is found.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. wetwerk

    wetwerk Guest

    I just did this with my PS2 Slim (silver) model SCPH-90001 (date code 8B). I bought all the same stuff that you did as well. I only used tools A & B.

    Tool B doesn't work that well because the discbreak still rubbed against the discs. So what I did was I superglued the discbreak to the right & held it there until the superglue set.

    If tool A is not firmly down inside the sensor hole, I would superglue in place like I did. You can mess around with it so your lid will close when you want it to.

    Then, just load up the DVD driver for Swap Magic 3.6 until it says "Load Program". Next, switch the swapdisc with your import/backup disc. Finally, all you have to do is Press X to start your game.

    If that doesn't work for you then maybe it's because you have a different model. Good Luck.

    Seacrest Out!
     
  7. Kerim_

    Kerim_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have the same problem like Bootaaay said with the same red PS2 90000 JP,I'm using swap magic 3.6 but it is the USA version.

    I think the problem may be because of the region but I want to know if Bootaaay was using a Japanese version of swap magic before jumping to any conclusions.

    Help please?
     

Share This Page