1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SwapMagic 3 Plus problem

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by hail12, Oct 6, 2007.

  1. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,

    I have had my slim PS2 for almost one year now. I have been using SwapMagic 3Plus. In the last 2 months, SwapMagic DVD hasn't been booting consistently. Most of the time, it just keeps spinning with a dark screen. Sometimes, it works, and it asks me to insert a game. Once I insert the backup game, it works without a problem.

    I tried some original DVD games and they work fine. What is wrong? is it my PS2 slim or the SwapMagic DVD just went bad?

    I am planning to buy a new SwapMagic Coder, but I am afraid that it will not fix the problem.

    Please advise. If the laser is bad, why original games still work?!

    Thanks
     
  2. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Could very well be your Swap Magic DVD is scratched or dirty, or both.
    Have you checked the disc and cleaned it. If you clean it make sure to use a non-abrasive cloth and wipe slowly from the centre to the outside of the disc in a straight movemment. Sometimes just a smudge on them will make them act up.
    Worth a try before you go to buy another.
    If your original PS2 disks are loading up fine, then probably is just the SM disk.
     
  3. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Smokyrain,

    Thanks for your reply. I just bought a brand new PS2 to see what is going on. I am very confused now.

    My SM DVD booted immediately on the new PS2. Of-course, I didn't modify it as I am planning to return it back. However, I am confused now. Why did my PS2 is not playing the SM disk and playing original DVD's only?

    What is so special in the SM DVD? If I pass that first SM screen my backup media play fine without a problem, it is only this introduction screen that asks to insert a game that is not comming up.

    Could my laser be weak? if yes, why? and why original play fine? if it is weak, why backup play fine pass the introduction screen of SM. Does SM disk need a strong fresh laser? Why?

    What is the life span of the PS2 with playing backup's. I have the PS2 for 18 Months now.

    Do you think a brand new SM DVD would also solve the problem?

    I appreciate anyone help explanation in this matter, I just want to understand the theory.

    I am also thinking about a hard drive solution like the USB Extreme as it won't worn the laser as much and the PS2 could live longer, what do you think?

    Thanks
     
  4. LIAMAZAEL

    LIAMAZAEL Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I bet it's just a dirty lens. I had the same problem but with the cd version of SM. Cleaning the lens worked great for me...
     
  5. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, great, what is the best way to clean the lens?
    Thanks
     
  6. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Gently wipe the Lens with either a Sunglass cleaning cloth or a cotton bud (q-tip) with non-corrosive cleaning fluid such as pure alcohol(rubbing alcohol). Wipe in a circular motion, and then let dry.

    As for the life span of a PS2 laser playing backups is hard to say really. Some last years, and some don't depending upon your version.
    They aren't expensive for the slim models though, don't know why that is. My V7 laser cost more than one for my V14.

    Try what we have suggested before going and buying a new SM Dvd.
    And as for USB drive, I have one but not all games are compatible and the movie parts are slow and choppy on most games as the PS2 is only capable of USB 1.1, not USB 2.
    I do have lots of backups though that play just fine.
    PS2 games compatibility with USB:
    http://jaydium.servehttp.com/usbextreme/gamelist.php
    What version PS2 do you have?
     
  7. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ok, Thanks,

    I don't have the PS2 infront of me now. But it is black last year model in the US. I noticed that the new ones are Silver, I might exchange it with a new one if I can maybe newr one have better light assy. I will still try the cleaning method.

    I have a PSOne, that I bought used. It is the compact small PSOne. I want to play backup games on it. What are my Options? I prefere something like SwapMagic. No soldering.

    Thanks
     
  8. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How easy is it to replace the laser on V14? does it need soldering? is there a tutorial?

    As I have a new PS2 now, I don't want to repeat the same mistake. I want to keep this laser longer, so I might get USB extreme. Not all games are compatible, but maybe less use of the laser.

    How easy is it to transfer games to the HD, is it a plug & play, just move some iso to HD and then plug it to the PS2?

    are there more things involved?

    Thanks


     
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Its not hard to change a laser. There are tutorials. I get mine from my retailer, so I can only show you a lite version.
    http://www.mod-chip.com/Lite/Laser_Replacement_Instructions_V12_LITE.pdf
    You can also take a look at youtube videos.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izY7pth8vKI&mode=related&search=

    As for USB drive, just plug your USB drive to computer, format it first with NTFS, then use the format tool in UsbEXtreme to format it to FAT32. You can then use that program to transfer games to hard drive, or use usbinsane.
    Then for using with Swap Magic, only need to make a folder on USB drive called SWAPMAGIC, copy usbadvance.elf to this folder, rename it SWAPMAGIC.ELF
    Then when you boot with Swap Magic it will detect the elf file and proceed to load your games.
    Read more about it here:
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/21/348187#3435437
    There are many threads on here also about everything ,just type a topin into the search feature.
    Anyway hope some of that explains a bit for you.
     
  10. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a lot for the info,

    So that means I don't have to buy any additional stuff. I already have swapmagic, and an external USB HD. I can download USBExtreme.

    My only question is, once I transfer all the games to the HD (over 50 games), would I be abl to select any game from the swapmagic boot screen?

    Or I have to keep renaming the files to play only a single game?

    Thanks
     
  11. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    When you boot your Swap Magic, with the USB drive plugged into the PS2, it should boot up with the Usbadvance Screen. You name your games when you transfer them.
    Looks like this:
    http://www.hdadvance.com/usb_extreme_whatis.htm
    The games will appear on the left, and info on the right.
    You then just scroll to what game you want. To play another game, you have to start all over.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2007
  12. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  13. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
  14. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was able to install the USBAdvance.elf, and I installed several games on my HD, and they run fine.

    Now I am looking at the compatability list. I see some games run in PAL and some run in NTSC. How do I do that? with Swapmagic, I used to be able to run PAL games by switching to NTSC. But now I don't have this option. With USB extreme, do I have to download the game as PAL and that it it? if it is in the compatability list in PAL then it should work? would USB Advance switch to NTSC automatically?

    in Short, how would PAL games run on NTSC setup?
    Thanks
     
  15. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oops, one more question.

    Can I install games on my internal drive, then move them to the PS2 drive? or they have to be directly installed on the PS2 HD?

    Thanks
     
  16. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I usually use adr patcher to fix the NTSC/PAL issue, but there are other patchers as well.
    YOu can read the tutorial here:
    http://sksapps.com/index.php?page=ypatch.html
    Usually fixes the problem, but not always.

    You have to use the programs to transfer to the hard drive as it divides the ISO up into 2-3 files
    You can use USB Extreme Win32 utility or USBinsane.
    Both programs are in this section:
    http://sksapps.com/index.php?page=hd.html
     
  17. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi again,

    i read some threads about dnas games. i have many games that just give me a black screen with usb advance. i read about some patchers to make those games work.

    do have any suggestion what patcher to use.

    i don't care about online, i just want the game to run off line from my hd.

    thank you
    /



     
  18. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I am not sure of any patchers to use for the DNAS or IOPRP swapping, but you can follow Bryce_v_s Tutorial on how to swap out the DNAS or IOPRP, or sometimes both to get games to work on a USB drive.
    go to this post: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/348187#2100927
    You will need to download 2. the tutorial, and then probably 3. also to see how to compile the files.
    Most tools you will need can be found here:
    http://www.sksapps.com/index.php?page=mis.html and if not probably I have them on my rapidshare folder.
    Now I do have a few DNAS or IOPRP in this file(USBAdvance_GlobalWar-Edition.rar) on my windrider folder on rapidshare. It explains what is included.
    Otherwise you need to find the IOPRP or DNAS file on a PS2 original game that you have. The tutorial explains all that.
    Good luck and post back with your results.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2007
  19. hail12

    hail12 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a lot,

    I understand most of the utorial except for the burning process. After I rename the IOPR*.IMG to DNAS*.IMG, and of course I have all the files on my HD. I was hoping a simple .iso burn of the content would be the quickest. Is this right?

    Or, I have to actually build the CD to a different format? What is the easiest program that could do this in Windows or Mac? no DOS.
    I want to drag and drop the content and create an. iso that I can transfere to my HD.


    Thanks
     
  20. smokyrain

    smokyrain Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,207
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Its not real simple procedure but its not hard. You have to use cdvdgen to build the iml files, then use CDVDGEN ISO builder by JRLS to add the Iml files to create the ISO.
    It doesnt take long, at least not on my computer.
    You can also use iml2iso to create the ISO also, which is on the sksapps.com page.
    I have just used Nero, select UDF/DVD ISO and add all files to the comilation and burn it to image file, but when choosing save as I choose the ISO not img format, but I usually just follow the tutorial method to be sure its correct format.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2007

Share This Page