1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switching DMA On

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by tCh99, Dec 27, 2004.

  1. tCh99

    tCh99 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I posted about my burner messing up and someone posted that I needed to go to Device Manager and turn DMA on on all of my servers or something. Can someone help me out on how to do this?
     
  2. rroettger

    rroettger Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Open device manager, on the right side hit the plus (+) sign to expand the list. Find IDE controls and expand it. Right click on the secondary IDE channel and select properties. Click on Advanced Settings tab.
    Transfer mode should be DMA if available. Current transfer mode should be Ultra DMA Mode 2 or better.
     
  3. n0un

    n0un Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    mine says multi-word dma mode 2, is that still ok? doesnt say nothing about ultra.
     
  4. rroettger

    rroettger Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  5. n0un

    n0un Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so i guess my dma is on.
     

Share This Page