1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

System gone wrong.

Discussion in 'All other topics' started by Flip1234, Apr 28, 2004.

  1. Flip1234

    Flip1234 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My cousin and I just made a system, but theres a problem.
    When we boot the pc it loads all the way up to the windows xp boot screen, then a blue screen comes up for like a second and then it restarts. These are the specs of the system.

    (Case)

    Mid Tower 350W

    (Motherboard)

    PCChips KT266A Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket A CPU, Model "M811LU" -RETAIL
    Specifications:
    Supported CPU: Socket A AMD Athlon/Duron Processor
    Chipset: VIA KT266A + VT8235
    FSB: 200/266MHz
    RAM: 2x DIMM for DDR200/266 Max 2GB
    IDE: 2x UltraDMA 133 up to 4 Devices
    Slots: 1x AGP 4X, 5x PCI
    Ports: 2xPS2,1xLPT,1xCOM,6xUSB(rear 4),1xLAN,Audio Ports
    Onboard Audio: VIA VT1612A Audio Codec
    Onboard LAN: VIA VT6103 10/100Mbps
    Form Factor: ATX

    (CPU)

    AMD Athlon XP 2400+, 266 FSB, 256K Cache Processor - OEM

    Model# AXDA2400DKV3C
    Item # N82E16819103335
    Specification
    Model: AMD Athlon XP 2400+
    Core: Thoroughbred
    Operating Frequency: 2.0GHz
    FSB: 266MHz
    Cache: L1/64K+64K; L2/256K
    Voltage: 1.65V
    Process: 0.13Micron
    Socket: Socket A
    Multimedia Instruction: MMX, SSE, 3DNOW!, 3DNOW!+
    Packaging: OEM(Processor Only)

    (CPU FAN)

    Speeze Socket A 462 CPU Fan Up to Athlon XP 3200+, 5T321

    (Memory)

    256MB DDR333 PC2700

    (Video Card)

    eVGA nVIDIA GeForce4 MX440SE Video Card, 64MB DDR, 64-bit, Dual VGA, 4X AGP, Model "e-GeForce4 MX 440 SE(

    - Specifications -

    Chipset/Core Speed: nVIDIA GeForce4 MX440SE/250MHz
    Memory/Effective Speed: 64MB DDR/333MHz
    BUS: AGP 1X/2X/4X
    Ports: DUAL VGA Out(15 Pin D-Sub)
    Support 3D API: DirectX®7.1, OpenGL®1.3
    Cable/Accessories: Driver CD
    Max Resolution@32bit Color: 2048X1536@60Hz
    Retail Box (See pics for details)

    (HDD)

    Maxtor 30gb

    (OS)

    WinXP Pro

    (Drives)

    (Master)Memorex 40x Burner
    (Slave)16x Dvd Player
    Floppy

    does anybody know what's wrong with it.
    thanks.
     
  2. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Do the extended memory test, see how that goes :)
     
  3. Flip1234

    Flip1234 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yeah it reads the memory fine.
    we keep the same hard drive from his old computer
    which is the maxtor 30.gb
    so it still has all of his old files and drivers
    i should format the hard drive
    right, but it could always be something else.
    thanks

     

Share This Page