1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

System Reboots while installing XP Pro

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by tbowling, Feb 15, 2007.

  1. tbowling

    tbowling Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here are the specs on this machine

    AMD XP2200+ chip
    MSI KT880 Mobo
    Kingston DDR 400 512mb
    WD HD 120GB
    GeForce 6600GT Video Card
    550 Power Supply

    I have been attempting to install windows on this machine. It is at the
    initial Windows setup blue screen. At the bottom of the screen you can see
    all the devcices and files that it is setting up (keep in mind this is b4 you
    even begin to format the HD). It gets right at the end of loading/setting up
    the drivers, and this is the last command it states: SETUP IS LOADING WINDOWS
    NT FILE SYSTEM (NTFS). The system just restarts right at that point. I have
    switched memory, and HD's and it does the same. Has anybody seen this b4?
    Please give a hand cause I am going nuts now.
     
  2. Morph416

    Morph416 Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I'd recommend updating your BIOS to the last version available.

    Since the board has three memory slots, try each slot one at a time. Also, to eliminate the possibility of it being the memory stick or memory slot, run MemTest86 with the memory stick in each slot.
     
  3. tbowling

    tbowling Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Will that work (memtest86) without any operating system? And where can I grab it from.
     
  4. whompus

    whompus Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  5. gamer17

    gamer17 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    its your powersupply
    replace your powersupply and it should work
     
  6. tbowling

    tbowling Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It's not the power supply. I have switched those out.
     

Share This Page