1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

T2 Extreme: blocky image quality

Discussion in 'DVD / BD-Rebuilder forum' started by David16k, May 12, 2007.

  1. David16k

    David16k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I installed DVD Rebuilder for the first time yesterday together with CCE SP 2.67. I then made a full DVD5 (including all subs, audio, extra's) backup of the DVD9 version of Chinatown. The quality was PERFECT. I didn't sacrifice any quality of the extra's for the full movie, but everything still looked great.

    Today I tried to make a DVD5 backup of my T2 Extreme DVD9 movie-disk with the EXACT same settings.

    This is what I kept in the backup version:
    - Full movie (6834MB) + 3 AC3 audio streams (movie stream and (possibly) 2 commentary streams) + 3 subtitles (English, English, Unknown)
    - Extra #1 (298MB) without audio streams or subs
    - Extra #2 (829MB) without audio streams or subs

    The process went perfectly fine, no errors, nothing.

    Then I ran the new DVD5. The IQ immediatelly looked great, the intro's, the menu's, etc, but then I looked at the full movie itself.

    It was incredibly blocky! Everytime the camera or an object moved it looked like I was watching the LEGO version of T2.

    Here is a screenshot comparison:

    Original DVD9
    [​IMG]

    DVD5 backup
    [​IMG]

    Why is this happening? Should I have removed more stuff from the DVD9 version?

    The important information from the rebuilder.txt:
    Code:
    - Detected ANGLE and/or INTERLEAVING on source.
    [16:30:37] One Click encoding activated...
    -----------------
    [16:30:38] Phase I, PREPARATION started.
    - VTS_02: 3.418.879 sectors.
    -- ANGLE and/or INTERLEAVING is present.
    -- Scanning and writing .D2V file
    -- Processed 229.328 frames.
    -- Building .AVS and .ECL files
    - VTS_08: 30.199 sectors.
    -- Scanning and writing .D2V file
    -- Processed 361 frames.
    -- Building .AVS and .ECL files
    - VTS_09: 69.287 sectors.
    -- Scanning and writing .D2V file
    -- Processed 4.742 frames.
    -- Building .AVS and .ECL files
    - Reduction Level for DVD-5: 25,2%
    - Overall Bitrate : 1.059Kbs
    - Space for Video : 1.264.312KB
    - HIGH/LOW/AVERAGE Cell Bitrates: 6.142/600/1.059 Kbs
    [16:32:46] Phase I, PREPARATION completed in 2 minutes.
    [16:32:46] Phase II ENCODING started
     - Creating M2V for VTS_02 segment 0
    
    
    Snip...
    
    
     - Creating M2V for VTS_09 segment 3
    [18:01:09] Phase II ENCODING completed in  89 minutes.
    [18:01:09] Phase III, REBUILD started.
    - Copying IFO, BUP, and unaltered files...
    - Processing VTS_02
      - Reading/processing TMAP table...
      - Rebuilding segment 0 VOBID: 1 CELLID: 1
    
    
    Snip...
    
    
      - Rebuilding segment 3 VOBID: 4 CELLID: 1
      - Updating NAVPACKS for VOBID_04
      - Updated VTS_C_ADT.
      - Updated VTS_VOBU_ADMAP.
    - Updated IFO: VTS_09_0.IFO
      - Updating TMAP table...
    Correcting VTS Sectors...
    [18:11:25] Phase III, REBUILD completed in 10 minutes.
    
    Done.
    [18:11:25] PREPARE/ENCODE/REBUILD completed in 101 min.
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2007
  2. teflonmyk

    teflonmyk Regular member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I swear by CCE, but that, my friend, is a HELLUVA lot of compression (25.2%)!!!! If you want to keep all of extras and such, I recommend dual layer media or a quality decrease on extras to give more space to the main movie. That much compression would yield substandard results with ANY encoder. Personally, I've never gone lower than the low 50's. The episodic discs that I've encoded to DVD-5 (Oz, Sopranos, etc) don't have nearly that much compression!
     
  3. David16k

    David16k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I wanted to remove the extra's completely, but I don't see any option in DVD Rebuilder to deselect the other 2 VTS's. Is it possible in DVD Rebuilder?

    EDIT:
    It seems DVD Rebuilder doesn't have an option to deselect certain VTS's. Would it help if I'd remove those VTS's from the DVD9 VIDEO_TS folder?
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2007
  4. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I highly recommend upgrading to the dvd-rb pro (only $30 I think). it gives you options to encode movie only, movie with menu only, just to name a few of the added features. well worth the money. personally I use dvdremake pro to remove all unwanted material before running it through rb/cce.
     
  5. klemperal

    klemperal Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Or, you can use Vobblanker. It's free and easier to use than Remake (I say easier because I haven't figured it out yet).
     
  6. Mort81

    Mort81 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    5,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I've used both vobblanker and dvdremake and I prefer remake because it is much more user friendly. dvdremake pro will do things vobblanker never even thought about doing. only drawback is that remake is not freeware.
     
  7. spiesfan

    spiesfan Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The reason for such compression is the menus you can see that only ~1.3 GB if free for the video. You can shrink the menus using dvd shirnk or DVD Rebuilder pro
     
  8. ebega

    ebega Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  9. ebega

    ebega Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just checked the results of this program (default settings) with T2 Extreme, you save over 900 mb by using this prior to encoding.
     
  10. ebega

    ebega Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I can't believe I didn't even notice this before, another reason for the low percentage is because you are using the free version and not RB-Pro. The free version of RB cannot process the interleaved sections. I picked up a copy of this a few days ago and ran full disc through RB-Pro and lowest compression I would get with all english audio and sub streams activated was in the mid 40%. Before I went ahead and encoded, I ran the decrypted DVD-9 files through menushrink, and percentage went up to 60% or so for full disc. Definitely look into the pro version of this program, well worth the money.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2007

Share This Page