1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Taking Lives - cannot back up using any progs tried

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by inzane007, Sep 4, 2004.

  1. inzane007

    inzane007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    With DVD Shrink, get the cyclic redundancy error report; with DVD Decryptor, get the No Seek Complete error (with both old release version and brand new release version); with DVDXCopy, got an error report that it failed to read file. Any ideas on what I can do?
     
  2. michigan

    michigan Guest

    You have a dirty, scratched, dmaged or defective disc. Thats what causes a CRC error. Check the disc for bad scratches, finger prints etc. No? Look closely at the bottom of the disc, move it around on the light, do you see what almost looks like a watermark? If so return the disc to the store for another - one yours is defective. You say that there is no watermark looking thingy, well then you are the proud owner of a factory pressed disc with some corrupt data on it. What do we do about this you ask, well same as the watermark thingy we return the disc to the store for another - one yours is defective.
     
  3. adub22

    adub22 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have the exact same problem trying to back up my sisters taking lives. same error with all 3 programs that i have never gotten before, the disc is brand new, no scratches what so ever.
     
  4. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    Hi inzane007,Welcome to aD,

    The error you're getting is caused by poor grade media.

    Try RiData, Ritek G04's, Sony, TDK or Verbatim DataLife OR DataLife plus.

    Your problem should go away -

    cheers, Pete

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    The “old man” Pete (ö¿ô)
    Compaq 8000, Pent IV CPU 2.84GHz, 1024MB RAM, 520GB HD.
    Pioneer 107, 8X R/W , Nec R/W ND-1300A, JLMS DVD ROM.
    128MB GeForce4 TI 4200, O/S XP[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2004
  5. bigfoot30

    bigfoot30 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey All,,
    When in doubt,, listen to ole ScubaPete,,, he's on top of it,,, lol,, just dont get to close to his fish bait
     
  6. adub22

    adub22 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I get the error when I'm copying the disc to the computer, not when im burning, and with DVD Xpress, it just freezes at 94%,-
     
  7. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You have a bad source disc, because I did ripped mine using DVD Decrypter.
     
  8. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    no problems using dvd shrink for it here.
     
  9. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    Unfortunately you have to get used to the fact that there's some DVD's that XCopy just cannot copy. When they had a support site it was possible to get a TDA for a specific DVD, now that they don't have a site you're SOL -:(

    * A TDA was something you could get to rip a certain DVD Movie

    If you're lucky enough to have a RF version there's a Browse button that you can use to pickup VOB files such as you can get from either DVD Decrypter OR DVD Shrink. If you're dealing with a Ripper version I suggest you get used to using DVD Shrink to rip and process and DVD Decrypter to burn. With those two and your DVD XCopy you'll be back in the game :)

    Cheers,

    Pete

     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2004
  10. Josh133

    Josh133 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I had a problem with Taking Lives using Shrink and i ended up getting frustrated and just watched it on my stand alone dvd player,and decided to try it again after watching it and for some reason it worked?I really don't know what the deal was but it worked,i didn't do anything different the second time i never figured that out?
     
  11. adub22

    adub22 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    well xpress and shrink wouldn't rip it, but i used dvd decryp to rip, dvd shrink to backup, nero to burn, it was the long way for sure, but it was worth it, -good movie

    -adub
     
  12. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    adub22, Josh133 -

    Here's a trick that may help next time -

    Having trouble ripping your original DVD ?

    Begin by playing your DVD with your PC's player. Play for two or three minutes then open your DVD Shrink, DVD X Copy or your weapon of choice - as soon as you begin your rip turn off your player so it doesn't interfere. The playing before hand is only so that your ripping program can "Find" your DVD.

    Should that not work, Download DVD Decrypter and rip the DVD in the "File" mode.

    http://www.dvddecrypter.com/

    When even the DVD Decrypter fails to rip your DVD try SmartRipper.

    http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd_rippers/smartripper.cfm


    Sometimes another specialist is all that's required. :)

    Cheers

    Pete


     
  13. adub22

    adub22 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks pete
     
  14. scottand

    scottand Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  15. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

    Well there Mr. Scottand, that was truly interesting, unsound, unfounded, laughable but interesting (Lol).

    DVD43 has absolutely no bearing at all of your DVD backup playing or not playing on a player or PC.

    True, DVD43 does remove CSS but so does DVD Shrink as well as it gets rid of that pesky MicroVision protection which DVD43 won't even touch. Media, on the other-hand, plays quite a roll in successful burning and playing, which can be borne out by numerous threads here at AfterDawn.

    While it's interesting to see you link to your own babblings, it's more interesting to see you allude to "others" who support your claim. Whooo Boy, we could have a real ball with that one. Bring them out and I'll get all the Seniors, Addicts and Mods here-abouts and we'll have a "go" at your so-called "theory." This place is virtually packed with those who will tell you that DVD43 cannot have a bearing on how a player will or won't play a disc BUT poor media can, without question, have a negative effect on how a disc may be received by a standalone player.

    Back to your own thread with you, and ponder why no one has posted to it. Generally we don't acknowledge postings when make zero sense (actually less than zero). Please don't expound your thoughts (?) on DVD43 to Newbies who may not have the education to see how utterly silly it sounds.

    BTW, Don't say I'm anti-DVD43. Heavens no ! It's a shame it doesn't handle as many things as AnyDVD or RegionFree DVD, but for FREE, it's pretty good for using with CloneDVD2 or DVD2One or even Nero even if it doesn't work all the time.

    A major drawback is that DVD43 will only work on Win2K OR XP and not on any other OS. Even so, we have had reports of pple experiencing problems using DVD43 with Win XP, Therefore, if you're looking for a lurking proggy ? Spend the $40.00(USD) and get AnyDVD for a really excellent, behind-the-scenes proggy.

    OK, Ok, I've finally run down and have cooled off – It was all a joke everyone he was just kidding about DVD43 making your disc play better on different players – don't try it, it's a waste of time

    Cheers all,

    Pete

    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    The “old man” Pete (ö¿ô)
    Compaq 8000, Pent IV CPU 2.84GHz, 1024MB RAM, 520GB HD.
    Pioneer 107, 8X R/W , Nec R/W ND-1300A, JLMS DVD ROM.
    128MB GeForce4 TI 4200, O/S XP[/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2004
  16. DOAB

    DOAB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm having the same problem with this taking lives DVD. All the DVD's I've backed up until now, no problem... I'd say about 100 of them. Granted, I don't use the most expensive media, but this is a ripping problem, not a burning problem. I've tried to rip this dvd using both my DVD-ROM which is a 16x pioneer drive as well as my NEC ND1300A DVD+/-RW drive. And, I've even tried two different copies of the movie. It gets to 79% (of ripping) and then it gets a read error. I use CloneDVD + AnyDVD to backup my movies if that helps at all. I'm obviously not the only one having a problem on this particular disc, so I'm fairly confident that something is different about this disc. I really don't know if anyone here can tell me what the deal is. Any real info would be appreciated, but save the silly comments about us being newbies and not knowing what the hell we're talking about.

    Also, I know it's not uncommon that cd-rom games and such use copy protection that causes the cd-rom to get read errors when you try to copy it. In those cases, all you had to do was ignore the read errors and copy them over with the rest of the data and it all worked out. Is it possible that DVD makers are doing the same type of thing now? If so, are there and dvd backup aps that allow you to ignore read errors?
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2004
  17. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    DOAB,

    Have a look at my first post.
     
  18. DOAB

    DOAB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    OK. So I finally made a working copy of Taking Lives. Here's what I did... I used DVD Decrypter to extract the files from the disc (tks flip). I still got errors at 79%, but I had to tell it to ignore the errors three or four times before it asked if I wanted to auto ignore read errors (click YES). After that I had errors for about the next 6 or 7 sectors and then it went back to reading fine. Then, since the files were too large to write to a 4.7GB DVD+R, I used DVD Shrink to compress and burn to disc.

    Anyway, I still say there is something fishy with this DVD. Maybe it's copy protection, maybe it's a mass-produced flaw, but regardless, it was a PITA to copy.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2004
  19. ScubaPete

    ScubaPete Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    6,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116


    DOAB,

    I'm sorry to tell you this at this point but when you selected ignore, DVD Decrypter ignored those files and they are not there now. You should have selected "Retry" - I just finished doing "Goodfellows" and because some files were bad I had to hit "Retry" about 30 times to get it from 44% to 100%. Now all my files are there and my backup is error free as are any copies made from it -

    You might want to go back and redo it, in the long run, it's 10X better -

    Cheers,

    Pete

     
  20. DOAB

    DOAB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well, pete, I know from the preview in cloneDVD that the errors that I was getting were during the end credits. I'm not really worried about the end credits anyway, but I did play the disc and let them roll and there was no problem on the copy. Besides, if the errors didn't keep the original from working, what do I care if they're copied over? I could understand if this were an old dirty/scratched or otherwise damaged disc, but it isn't, and my drives continue to read all other DVDs flawlessly. I just wanted to let people know who have this same problem with this particular disc that there is a way to back it up.
     

Share This Page